Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New Skywatcher AZ GTi goto wifi mount

  • Please log in to reply
1729 replies to this topic

#1651 Euripides

Euripides

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2019
  • Loc: Greece

Posted 12 September 2019 - 07:06 AM

Yesterday I've received my mount too from FLO but I think that is a faulty unit (or I am completely noob - which is true by the way).

 

- The AZ plate is so stiff that it is extremelly difficult to rotate it manually.

- The AL plate is not moving via the app. (it moves without an issue manually)

 

(both are fully unlocked)

 

VIDEO

 

In addition to that, I think that the AZ movement is a little bit slower than other units I've seen (the speed was set to 9).

 

 

I've already contacted FLO to sort things but what do you think? Is this an issue, or I missing something?



#1652 Astrodave

Astrodave

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Joined: 28 May 2004
  • Loc: Centreville, Va. USA

Posted 12 September 2019 - 07:15 AM

I don't know. With my 120ST and 7 pounds of counterweights on the other side this mount looks and feels VERY overloaded to me. I decided not to chance it in that configuration because the 7 pounds of counterweights would not even balance my 120ST. It wasn't even close really. The 120ST probably weighs over 10 pounds on its own and would need at least another 2 pounds of counterweights and the mount looked very rickety with that giant load on it and that is less than what you're trying to do. I'm also using a very heavy duty surveyors tripod with mine and not the flimsy tripod it comes with. You can forget it with the stock tripod. I know David loads his up pretty well so you might get away with it. I just don't trust it with all that money hanging off of it myself. One thing I can say is that the mount is more stable in altaz mode than it is with the equivalent amount of weight in EQ mode.


  • Jon2070 likes this

#1653 Astrodave

Astrodave

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Joined: 28 May 2004
  • Loc: Centreville, Va. USA

Posted 12 September 2019 - 07:22 AM

Stiff AZ is normal for these units. I sent mine to SWUSA and it's much better now but backlash is bad. I assume both axes are locked when you are trying to slew with the app? You need to make sure the clutches are unlocked when you want to manually move the mount and the clutches are locked when you want the app to slew.


  • Euripides likes this

#1654 Euripides

Euripides

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2019
  • Loc: Greece

Posted 12 September 2019 - 11:53 AM

Stiff AZ is normal for these units. I sent mine to SWUSA and it's much better now but backlash is bad. I assume both axes are locked when you are trying to slew with the app? You need to make sure the clutches are unlocked when you want to manually move the mount and the clutches are locked when you want the app to slew.

You are my hero!

 

No, my both axes were fully unlocked the whole time. Locked them and now ALT is moving correctly :-)

 

Thank you so much @Astrodave


  • Astrodave likes this

#1655 kel123

kel123

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 11 May 2019

Posted 12 September 2019 - 05:25 PM

I have been putting together a spreadsheet for my planned build with this mount and would welcome people's thoughts, primarily in terms of weight on the mount, (I will get the iOptron EQ wedge);

 

ZWO ASI1600MM-Pro + ZWO EFW   =  ~820g

 

ZWO Guide Scope + ASI290MM Mini =  ~670g

 

William Optics Redcat = ~1500g

 

Deepskydad Redcat AF2 + WFFS mount = ~1400g   (https://deepskydad.com/)

 

Total = 4390g

 

Also dew-heaters, cables, support rings and the DSD DC Hub 2 

 

So I'll be close to the 5kg limit and that's without counter-weights, am I being a bit optimistic?

Unfortunately, what you want to do is not the specialty of this mount. So, do not complain if it does not deliver.

 

The manufacturer stated it quite clearly that this mount is a visual mount, unsuitable for Astrophotography. It is called AZGti.

 

Skywatcher only provided an EQ mode later for users to just play around with. If it is what you want to do, fine but do not expect results with that setup. 

 

So in terms of your level of optimism , you are loading a mount which was not made for Astrophotography in mind to full capacity when there is a consensus that you should only load Astrophotography mounts to 50 percent.  

 

Think about it. 



#1656 Euripides

Euripides

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 15 Aug 2019
  • Loc: Greece

Posted 13 September 2019 - 02:11 PM

I am interested in planetary imaging (at the moment) and at a very early stage (I have a lot to learn). So, as far as I can understand my needs for power are limited.

 

Regularly I use Panasonic Eneloop AA 1900mAh (never failed me). Does anyone use the mount with AA batteries? How long do they last (approximately).

 

I can see that many people suggest the TalentCell PowerBank 12000, but this is another 50e in the budget..

 

I have this starter but I am not really sure that I would be able to use it in addition with an adapter like this.



#1657 eros312

eros312

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 426
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Tampa, FL

Posted 13 September 2019 - 02:17 PM

Power will last about 6 hours with AA's.


  • Euripides likes this

#1658 Astrodave

Astrodave

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Joined: 28 May 2004
  • Loc: Centreville, Va. USA

Posted 13 September 2019 - 04:24 PM

The talentcell is the way to go. A year of using this thing and it would pay for itself over using AA batteries if you use it two or three times a week. I love my talentcell 11000. Powers either of my mounts and all accessories for session after session without a recharge. It also recharges easily with the rockpals solar charger when you are camping and off grid. 


  • davidparks and Euripides like this

#1659 elakrab

elakrab

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2018

Posted 14 September 2019 - 02:21 AM

I am pretty delighted with the photography capabilities of this little non photographic mount. My backlash is small (to be confirmed with guiding, but moving at speed 4 makes it react almost immediately), the mount is super quiet, gotos are super accurate (if the polar alignment is reasonable) and the tracking is accurate enough to give me nice round stars at 3 minutes with the redcat. I have even decides to jump to one of these 70mm f5 quadruplets. Attached a picture from my sqm ~19 skies in Berlin.

 

 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • PtHibz2 (4).jpg

Edited by elakrab, 14 September 2019 - 02:32 AM.

  • Mike McShan, eros312, Roger Corbett and 4 others like this

#1660 Jon2070

Jon2070

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2018

Posted 14 September 2019 - 03:59 AM

I am pretty delighted with the photography capabilities of this little non photographic mount. My backlash is small (to be confirmed with guiding, but moving at speed 4 makes it react almost immediately), the mount is super quiet, gotos are super accurate (if the polar alignment is reasonable) and the tracking is accurate enough to give me nice round stars at 3 minutes with the redcat. I have even decides to jump to one of these 70mm f5 quadruplets. Attached a picture from my sqm ~19 skies in Berlin.

That is useful to know elakrab and a very nice image! I am intrigued to know what your payload is for each configuration? This and DavidParks' experiences are handy in showing that AP is possible with this mount.

 

Following on from my previous posts, after checking with Pavle at Deepskydad I would not be using the Redcat with his WFFS so my Redcat setup would be around 3.2kg without a counterweight and around 3.7kg if using the WFFS with a Samyang 135mm.

 

With my ASI1600MM I think that my broadband subs will be around 2 minutes maximum and NB between 4 and 6 minutes. I don't intend to use anything longer/heavier than the Redcat on this mount, down the line I'll get something more substantial for larger telescopes.

 

I have also being looking into alternatives, the iOptron SmartEQ Pro+ weighs twice as much, costs nearly double and has the same payload capacity and then there is the iOptron CEM25P which has a payload capacity of 12.3kg and weighs 4.7kg and is about 3 times the price. Although I will mostly use the mount locally I do hope to use it abroad at dark sky sites so it would be beneficial to take it on a plane. I know that would be possible with the other mounts I mentioned, but I would want to take my terrestrial photography gear with me as well so the more compact the better.



#1661 elakrab

elakrab

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2018

Posted 16 September 2019 - 02:20 AM

I have also being looking into alternatives, the iOptron SmartEQ Pro+ weighs twice as much, costs nearly double and has the same payload capacity and then there is the iOptron CEM25P which has a payload capacity of 12.3kg and weighs 4.7kg and is about 3 times the price. Although I will mostly use the mount locally I do hope to use it abroad at dark sky sites so it would be beneficial to take it on a plane. I know that would be possible with the other mounts I mentioned, but I would want to take my terrestrial photography gear with me as well so the more compact the better.

 

I am going on shift to an observatory in the US for 3 weeks and I'm still not sure if I will take the az gti or the star adventurer with me. I would take the az gti given the latest good experiences I have had, but what makes me doubt is the lack of a quick & off-grid & solid polar alignment tool. I really cannot spend 30 minutes with the mount doing adjustments, I need something quick like a polarscope. With quick I mean non-iterative (so no traditional drift & darv, with off-grid I mean without computer (I am not sure I want to bring the raspberry pi, although I am starting to consider it) and with solid I mean that it converges correctly (the tool of the skywatcher smartphone app, while it works, does not converge in a consistent and quick enough way, sometimes it gives you absurd corrections to make). 


Edited by elakrab, 16 September 2019 - 02:34 AM.


#1662 mxcoppell

mxcoppell

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 387
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2017
  • Loc: Coppell, Texas

Posted 16 September 2019 - 10:32 AM

Hello elakrab, I use Pole Master with ADM adapter attaching to the dovetail bar. Pretty easy to gain high precision PA. Just a thought.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

#1663 Astrodave

Astrodave

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Joined: 28 May 2004
  • Loc: Centreville, Va. USA

Posted 16 September 2019 - 11:19 AM

Can someone explain to me how the ADM rail pole adapter works accurately? It seems to me any pole scope hung off of the dovetail rail will be dependent on how well centered the dec axis is before the process is started because it's not a fixed point like the embedded chute for a polar scope would be.



#1664 mxcoppell

mxcoppell

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 387
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2017
  • Loc: Coppell, Texas

Posted 16 September 2019 - 01:53 PM

Dave, no, it’s not necessary. The PM software handles the calculations.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

#1665 Don W

Don W

    demi-god

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 23229
  • Joined: 19 May 2003
  • Loc: Wisconsin, USA

Posted 17 September 2019 - 07:49 PM

Sorry for posting about something other than imaging here (easy big fella, it's a joke).

 

I keep seeing pictures and references to a counterweight system for this mount. Can some one point me to it?

 

Does this work? It seems I read somewhere that it has an M8 thread and the AZ GTi has M12.

 

https://www.bhphotov...it.html/reviews



#1666 maxsid

maxsid

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2018
  • Loc: Sunnyvale, CA

Posted 17 September 2019 - 08:02 PM

I use it with this adapter: https://www.amazon.c...uct/B07FRNY84S/

 

Sorry for posting about something other than imaging here (easy big fella, it's a joke).

 

I keep seeing pictures and references to a counterweight system for this mount. Can some one point me to it?

 

Does this work? It seems I read somewhere that it has an M8 thread and the AZ GTi has M12.

 

https://www.bhphotov...it.html/reviews



#1667 kel123

kel123

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 11 May 2019

Posted 17 September 2019 - 08:17 PM

Sorry for posting about something other than imaging here (easy big fella, it's a joke).

I keep seeing pictures and references to a counterweight system for this mount. Can some one point me to it?

Does this work? It seems I read somewhere that it has an M8 thread and the AZ GTi has M12.

https://www.bhphotov...it.html/reviews


You should not be sorry for anything. In fact, your post is perfectly in order. More so, than posts about imaging here.

This thread is for everything about the mount. The AZ Gti is primarily an Altaz mount. Imaging is secondary.

You are on the right track with your link and the follow up poster about the counterweight solution.

#1668 Don W

Don W

    demi-god

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 23229
  • Joined: 19 May 2003
  • Loc: Wisconsin, USA

Posted 17 September 2019 - 08:40 PM

Thank you both. Just ordered them from Amazon. Had enough points to pay for them both, lol.



#1669 jirestre

jirestre

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 09 Oct 2018

Posted 17 September 2019 - 11:04 PM

I too disliked the stock saddle clamp so I turned up an adapter on the lathe today to allow the fitment of a nicer saddle:

Hey Kunama, I have the same saddle but don’t have the piece you machined. Any chance you have the specs of the piece you made so I can take a look and see if it can me made here in Mexico? Thank you



#1670 SpaceOddities

SpaceOddities

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2018
  • Loc: Germany

Posted 18 September 2019 - 06:46 AM

I finally found a setup that works well for me, and I thought I should share it with you guys.

 

I had the first light with the ASI1600MM and the ASIAIR, and they both performed very well! I'm really impressed at how the ASIAIR makes everything easy, and paired with the AZ-GTi, it's probably the most portable GoTo mount available right now. Everything fits in a backpack, and I can see myself traveling with that kit to more remote locations.

 

I was afraid of the polar alignment with the AZ-GTi, but it was extremely easy. It took me about 15 minutes, but that was the first time I used the software. Also, I didn't have anything to hold my phone, so I had to put it back in my pocket all the time grin.gif  I'm pretty sure it will be much faster next time!

 

The ability to plate solve and sync the mount just changes everything. No more 3 star alignment, all targets are dead center. 

 

The AZ-GTi and ASIAIR can communicate together via Wi-Fi, or using the EQDIR USB cable. Both seem to work well, but I chose to use the cable to be on the safe side.

 

Here are a few pics of the setup: AZ-GTi with ADM dovetail system, iOptron's latitude base, ASI1600MM-Pro, Canon 200mm f/2.8L, ASI120MM mini with a 32mm guide scope, and the ASIAIR with Lynx Astro EQDIR cable. The camera is powered by a battery from Tracer, which is really good, while the mount is powered by the internal 8 rechargeable batteries. I might move later to a PegasusAstro Pocket Powerbox, to power both the mount and the camera with the same battery. I've heard a stable power source is better for the AZ-GTi!

 

I also have the counterweight system from the Star Adventurer (+adapter). It's a good addition for bigger scopes or lenses. I haven't tried to mount my SW 130mm Newtonian in Alt-Az configuration, but I suspect it's pushing the mount a bit? Has anyone tried it, for observing in Alt-Az?

 

Regarding the saddle, like many, I can recommend the one from ADM. It's more solid than the default one. However it's too wide for some dovetail bars, like those nice ones from William Optics (Arca Swiss + standard dovetail), which is pity.

 

p1.JPG

 

p2.JPG

 

p3.JPG


Edited by SpaceOddities, 18 September 2019 - 06:56 AM.

  • Phil Cowell, eros312, NikhilJoshi and 2 others like this

#1671 maxsid

maxsid

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2018
  • Loc: Sunnyvale, CA

Posted 19 September 2019 - 03:40 AM

If your PM is off by a degree or two with respect to the mount's axis.. Polar alignment for the PM will be great but for the main scope it will be off.

 

Dave, no, it’s not necessary. The PM software handles the calculations.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro



#1672 Astrodave

Astrodave

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1454
  • Joined: 28 May 2004
  • Loc: Centreville, Va. USA

Posted 19 September 2019 - 06:54 AM

If your PM is off by a degree or two with respect to the mount's axis.. Polar alignment for the PM will be great but for the main scope it will be off.

You see this is my thought too. I'm not sure how this can be done unless the dec axis is perfectly in line with the correct mount zero point. Since the azgti has no marked center point it's just a guessing game as to what is actually centered. The consensus is that the software handles that so...



#1673 stelaras1

stelaras1

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 07 Sep 2014

Posted 19 September 2019 - 02:22 PM

got star adventurer eq base but when i tried to adapt it to az gti it seems that the knob that locks wedge to the mount is very close to the mount thus preventing free movements

 

thanks

Stelios 



#1674 trurl

trurl

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15305
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2017
  • Loc: North Carolina

Posted 19 September 2019 - 02:25 PM

got star adventurer eq base but when i tried to adapt it to az gti it seems that the knob that locks wedge to the mount is very close to the mount thus preventing free movements

 

thanks

Stelios 

https://www.cloudyni...ount/?p=9243922


  • stelaras1 likes this

#1675 elakrab

elakrab

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2018

Posted 19 September 2019 - 03:39 PM

IMG_20190919_223612.jpg

got star adventurer eq base but when i tried to adapt it to az gti it seems that the knob that locks wedge to the mount is very close to the mount thus preventing free movements

 

thanks

Stelios 

This is what I put in mine, better than standard knobs as you can still use your hands


  • stelaras1 likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics