Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New Skywatcher AZ GTi goto wifi mount

  • Please log in to reply
1763 replies to this topic

#1726 RrainbowSix

RrainbowSix

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2016
  • Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted 09 October 2019 - 10:19 AM

Agreed on the USB cable. I was getting the same Mount is parked/not tracking message. Went away the first time I used the cable.

 

I haven't done longer than 120 sec subs but I might next time out to test.

 

Btw, I've won two astro awards for images taken with this mount! Still amazed at what it can do.


  • mxcoppell and Jon2070 like this

#1727 mxcoppell

mxcoppell

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 451
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2017
  • Loc: Coppell, Texas

Posted 09 October 2019 - 10:26 AM

Agreed on the USB cable. I was getting the same Mount is parked/not tracking message. Went away the first time I used the cable.

 

I haven't done longer than 120 sec subs but I might next time out to test.

 

Btw, I've won two astro awards for images taken with this mount! Still amazed at what it can do.

Congratulations RainbowSix! Share the pictures please for inspiration!

 

Are you using SGP or NINA? I got the "Mount Parked" message even with the EQDIR cable... Duh.



#1728 stelaras1

stelaras1

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 07 Sep 2014

Posted 10 October 2019 - 02:04 PM

[how to make an EQDIR cable]

 

This is not a break-out board.

This is a USB to serial Cable Adapter.

I used this: https://www.amazon.c...duct/B014GZTCC6

You are also going to need a phone cable (for land-line).

AZ-GTi has 6 contacts, phone cable - four but it fits.

 

You basically need to connect:

GRND of the mount to GRND of the adapter

Tx to Rx of the adapter

Rx to Tx of the adapter

 

Come on.. It's just three wires to connect!

 

More detailed:

Phone cable ends are different.

Keep the end which has the black wire (ground) on the left when plugged into AZ-GTi. Cut off the other end.

 

When you look at AZ-GTi socket, the order is such:

1 - empty

2 - GRND

3 - Rx

4 - empty

5 - Tx

6 - empty

 

Phone cable:

1 - ground/black            > goes to black of adapter

2 - Rx/Red                     > goes to green of adapter

3 - green (not used)

4 - Tx/Yellow                  > goes to white of adapter

 

Adapter:

Ground - black

Rx        - white

Tx        - green      

 

My cable works.

I prefer to use wi-fi but it doesn't work reliably with RPI4 (works fine with RPI3).

 

Hope this helps.

 

 maxsid awesome :)

 

thanks for the info!

 

do you think that this will do the trick?



#1729 maxsid

maxsid

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2018
  • Loc: Sunnyvale, CA

Posted 10 October 2019 - 02:34 PM

looks the same as mine...

 

 maxsid awesome smile.gif

 

thanks for the info!

 

do you think that this will do the trick?


  • stelaras1 likes this

#1730 RrainbowSix

RrainbowSix

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2016
  • Loc: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted 11 October 2019 - 10:08 AM

I did presentation at my club this week to give an update on where I am with my astrophotography. 

 

I've only been at this for less than 3 years and mostly image under Bortle 8/9 skies.

 

The basis of the presentation was around using the AZ-GTi as my portable rig when I visit our Dark Sky Star Parties.

 

I have to say that even with the inherent flaws this mount has i.e. not being built for astrophotography, it continues to bear fruit and never lets me down night after night. Great job Skywatcher!

 

As mentioned earlier this week, I won an imaging contest award this summer using the AZ-GTi and have lots of unprocessed data to sort through. All taken with "the little mount that could".

 

Here is the unedited video. I'm at the 33 min mark.

 

https://youtu.be/72gRvP0RT8Q

 

Adrian


  • eros312, Knobby, tkottary and 1 other like this

#1731 jasonpetrop

jasonpetrop

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 12 Oct 2019

Posted 16 October 2019 - 04:12 AM

Hi friends,

 

a quick totally newbi question here for the mount i cannot understand the right left arm

which means what? i have an Evostar 72ED to attach to the mount

but first i like to know the right arm that the skywatcher  has in the firmware version

 

thank you all

 

 

[sorry for my bad English]



#1732 Spikey131

Spikey131

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 962
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2017

Posted 16 October 2019 - 07:31 AM

The AZ GTI mount is designed to operate with the saddle to the left of the body of the mount in Alt/Az mode. 

 

In  a software upgrade, they allowed the user to operate it with the saddle on the right.

 

If you have a stock mount without a software upgrade, mount your telescope on the left side of the body for Alt/AZ mode.



#1733 Jon2070

Jon2070

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2018

Posted 16 October 2019 - 02:21 PM

When mounting the AZ GTi onto the iOptron Alt-Azimuth Base what have people used? Aimed at davidparks and SpaceOddities mainly as I know that is your setup.

 

Is it feasible to do PA with my guide scope/camera (ZWO 200mm and ASI290MM)? I believe that PHD2 has a PA function or is Synscan Pro my best option without getting a polemaster or similar?

 

I received mine today, still waiting on power cables, it is clear tonight too, despite a 90% Moon.



#1734 SpaceOddities

SpaceOddities

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2018
  • Loc: Germany

Posted 19 October 2019 - 03:34 AM

Sorry for the late answer!

 

As I said in my PM, like many others I'm using this adapter from Sky-Watcher to mount the AZ-GTi on the iOptron base: https://www.amazon.c...y/dp/B00YWPCNJU

 

Yes, you can polar align the AZ-GTi with your guide camera and PHD2, or similar software smile.gif  


  • Jon2070 likes this

#1735 Jon2070

Jon2070

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2018

Posted 19 October 2019 - 05:00 AM

Sorry for the late answer!

 

As I said in my PM, like many others I'm using this adapter from Sky-Watcher to mount the AZ-GTi on the iOptron base: https://www.amazon.c...y/dp/B00YWPCNJU

 

Yes, you can polar align the AZ-GTi with your guide camera and PHD2, or similar software smile.gif  

Thank you so much Pierre! I actually have this already, it came with my SA bundle, it went in the back of the cupboard and I forgot about it as I've never had to use it with the SA.

 

Hopefully the power leads will arrive today or Monday and I can start to get my head around it all.

 

Thank you for the PA advice too grin.gif


  • SpaceOddities likes this

#1736 Jon2070

Jon2070

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2018

Posted 21 October 2019 - 04:31 AM

Not had a clear night yet, but have been putting everything together and something occurred to me, in EQ mode does it matter where the RA and Dec parts are aligned to with regard to the mount? There are no markings on it. On the RA there is just the two little notches towards the outer edge and that's it. I plan to PA with my guide scope but surely everything needs to be lined up correctly? How do you do this without the markings?



#1737 aa6ww

aa6ww

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2099
  • Joined: 23 Oct 2011
  • Loc: Sacramento, Calif.

Posted 21 October 2019 - 03:13 PM

Can anyone tell me if more then one smart device can be hooked up to this mount at one time.
I'm considering buying one of these for a variety of reasons, and one is just to mount a Laser pointer on it and use it as my GoTo pointer, so I can still use my Manual G11 with my larger refractors and SCT's in my light polluted back yard.
My AVX can be controlled by my hand controller, my computer, my smart phone all at one time, so maybe so?

One other option I'm considering is using the snap connector for the camera shutter to toggle a relay to fire up the laser Pointer on the mount. Maybe put a 10 second "On" Timer to keep the laser on for 10 seconds or so.

Even if none of this is possible, this is a great simple mount and I can see it having plenty of uses.
Seems like an awesome mount for our up coming Mercury Transit next month.

thanks in advance for any comments on any of this.

Ralph

#1738 Geordie@55°N

Geordie@55°N

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 23 Jun 2019
  • Loc: The Desolate North, England

Posted 21 October 2019 - 06:16 PM

Hi aa6ww

 

My first attempt at operating this mount was with two devices,  my initial connection was to Syn-Scan using the iPhone and I completed the alignment first, once that was done I connected to the mount using Stellarium that was installed on an old android box, with a monitor I had lying around,  it worked OK but not ideal and had a few disconnections and I blame the old iPhone 4S, but both devices controlled the mount.

 

I now use a Nexus 7" which seems to be bomb-proof,  I connect in exactly the same way, run Syn-Scan /  Align / then minimise the app,  and open Sky Safari 6 pro on the same device and they both run for hours without any trouble. So both programs on one device,  I run everything including the mount from my 12v DC Sky-Watcher Power Tank. 

 

I could try connecting the iPhone/Nexus/Android box all at the same time while running Stellarium/Syn-Scan/and Safari !!!   

 

cheers


Edited by Geordie@55°N, 21 October 2019 - 06:16 PM.


#1739 mkothe

mkothe

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 475
  • Joined: 08 Mar 2007
  • Loc: Boston, MA

Posted 21 October 2019 - 07:04 PM

I now use a Nexus 7" which seems to be bomb-proof, I connect in exactly the same way, run Syn-Scan / Align / then minimise the app, and open Sky Safari 6 pro on the same device and they both run for hours without any trouble. So both programs on one device,
cheers


That’s sounding more and more attractive, since there has been no progress with sky safari integration on the iPad. Would this work with a fire tablet, or do they have some limitations? I have no experience with the world of android tablet, and this sounds like a reasonable choice. Would I need more than 16GB? The 8” with HD display? Or is the 7” 1024x600 OK?

Thanks,
Michael

#1740 Geordie@55°N

Geordie@55°N

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 23 Jun 2019
  • Loc: The Desolate North, England

Posted 22 October 2019 - 07:30 AM

Hi mkothe

 

Sorry Michael,  I also have little experience with Android equipment, I only use the nexus for this mount really,  but out of the 16 GB storage I have, there is 12 GB or more spare so I don't think storage will ever be a problem.

It's best to check that the device as a few extras like GPS, Location, Compass etc. These apps can help and make life much easier, such as the "Compass"  part of Sky Safari where you hold the tablet towards any part of the sky and it gives you detailed info of every star.  Even with the Nexus I input my location manually in Syn-Scan ... only takes seconds to do and you only do it once. 

 

The problem with the iPad...........from what I read ages ago it looks like running these two programs at the same time on the same device was a non starter so I veered away from those devices. 

 

I went with the Nexus 7 ( the WiFi only ) as it didn't cost very much for experimentation ( £35 ), I thought the standard phone size is to small, and the 7" tablet was just about right for viewing Sky-Safari.  And I would say all the problems I experienced have disappear using the Nexus 7.  The Nexus in it's day was a very powerful tablet and it has a really good high resolution screen 1920 x 1200 so that is full HD on a 7" screen.   I also bought a  "  Cooper Trooper 7-8” Tablet silicone Case"  as it comes with a strap so you can hang it around your neck if you want and it also has a kick stand for use on a table  



#1741 mkothe

mkothe

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 475
  • Joined: 08 Mar 2007
  • Loc: Boston, MA

Posted 22 October 2019 - 08:09 AM

Thanks, that's great input, especially the reminder on GPS functionality. 

 

I am also interested in the GLP control via snap connector that Ralph mentioned, but I have no idea how to do it, or if it is even possible. I was going to use the bulb mode to control it as a momentary on/off switch, but setting a 10 second exposure or similar also sounds like a good idea. 

 

Michael



#1742 Geordie@55°N

Geordie@55°N

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 23 Jun 2019
  • Loc: The Desolate North, England

Posted 22 October 2019 - 11:25 AM

Forgot to mention it's the Nexus 7  2nd Generation  running Android 6.0.1..........   I am not sure but I think the earlier version didn't have GPS



#1743 jeffry7

jeffry7

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 172
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2017

Posted 22 October 2019 - 05:11 PM

Forgot to mention it's the Nexus 7  2nd Generation  running Android 6.0.1..........   I am not sure but I think the earlier version didn't have GPS

The first gen has GPS as well. The Nexus was Google's design and so had the features they wanted standardized on Android devices.

https://en.wikipedia.../Nexus_7_(2012)



#1744 SpaceOddities

SpaceOddities

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: 03 Dec 2018
  • Loc: Germany

Posted 23 October 2019 - 10:58 AM

Thanks, that's great input, especially the reminder on GPS functionality. 

 

I am also interested in the GLP control via snap connector that Ralph mentioned, but I have no idea how to do it, or if it is even possible. I was going to use the bulb mode to control it as a momentary on/off switch, but setting a 10 second exposure or similar also sounds like a good idea. 

 

Michael

You might want to know that if you have an ASIAIR, you don't need 2 iOS devices to control the AZ-GTi via SkySafari.

 

I did a test with the latest version of ZWO's app. SkySafari talks to the ASIAIR (you just need to configure the right IP & port), and the ASIAIR talks to the mount either via Wi-Fi, or using an EQDIR cable (that's what I use). It worked perfectly on my iPhone!

 

I haven't had the opportunity to do a lot of tests, but it appears that ASIAIR + AZ-GTi is an awesome combinaison for backpack astrophotography/astronomy. The only problem is that it's only compatible with ZWO's hardware (cameras, focusers, filter wheels...) as well as Canon/Nikon DSLR. But yeah, if that's what you have, you might want to check it out! 



#1745 Jon2070

Jon2070

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2018

Posted 24 October 2019 - 04:38 PM

I'm having difficulty connecting to the mount with my PC via EQMod cable, a few days ago I managed to successfully connect and update the firmware. I also got N.I.N.A. to connect using the Syscan Mobile Telescope ASCOM driver. Not sure what I am doing/not doing now that is different. I can still connect via synscan on my android phone although I found that the wifi dropped in and out, not sure whether that is related. Do I need to connect with my phone at all? My hope is to just connect via cable each time and not use the wifi.



#1746 mxcoppell

mxcoppell

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 451
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2017
  • Loc: Coppell, Texas

Posted 24 October 2019 - 11:17 PM

Jon, did you change the connection setting from WiFi to serial in SynScan ASCOM driver? Just in case.



#1747 Jon2070

Jon2070

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2018

Posted 25 October 2019 - 05:12 AM

Jon, did you change the connection setting from WiFi to serial in SynScan ASCOM driver? Just in case.

Thank you for the quick response, there isn't a lot to my SynScan ASCOM driver, no option to change the connection from wifi to serial, there is that option in the SynScan app on my phone. I got the firmware loader on my PC to connect via the cable, then I tried the EQMOD Ascom driver (HEQ5/6) and that worked. In N.I.N.A. when connecting it opens the EQMOD window but then gives a fail to connect message and upon pressing connect again it then connects. It will park the mount and slew. Last night was forecast to be clear so I wanted to try a PA, although it stayed fairly cloudy in the end.



#1748 kel123

kel123

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 145
  • Joined: 11 May 2019

Posted 26 October 2019 - 05:59 AM

Please who uses the Synscan hand controller with the GTI? I am wondering whether the software polar assist feature in the handset works for the GTI in EQ mode.

This feature is a variation of the Celestron All Star Polar Alignment (ASPA).

I know it is not in the mobile phone app but I guess it could be an option when you use an upgraded hand controller with the gti .
Thanks.

#1749 Janos51

Janos51

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 25 Oct 2019

Posted 26 October 2019 - 07:50 AM

Hi, I have an AZ-GTE (99% the same as AZ-GTI) and while it works perfectly with SynScan Pro app, when I attach the Synscan hand controller, even after a two star alignment in AZ mode the mount just goes around 360 on both axis as if it did not find the selected object. The firmware of the hand controller is the latest 04.39.05, while the mount's FW is 3.20 eq/az dual mode right hand version. Has anyone met such an issue? Thanks in advance!


Edited by Janos51, 26 October 2019 - 07:54 AM.


#1750 Knobby

Knobby

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2012

Posted 26 October 2019 - 03:17 PM

Yes! And with my first mount the problem was so intense that my mount had a serious problem on tracking objects and i was unable to fix it on my own. So i send it back for a replacement. The second one is much better, but the tension nut needs to be adjusted too. Now i'm very satisfied with the mount. As i understand there always a little bit "asymmetry" of the gear that turns the mount and that cause those problems. That's why Skywatcher made this spring tension "patent". If you want to adjust it, fist of all find the maximum friction point between the gear and the worm. This is the point that the motor struggles the most. Remove mount cover (it's easy, but be careful not to cut a wire as you remove it) and find the screw that holds the spring (look photo). Loose that screw and retighten. Now make a 360 turn to see if the tension was gone. Keep in mind that you must accept a slight amount of backlash in some points. You must find a balance between backlash and tension.


Just a thought, has anyone tried leaving the tensioner loose so the spring will 'follow' the slightly off centre wheel ?
Not sure what it would do to the wear on the worm / gears though ...


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics