Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Stacking sun spots

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Remaxman

Remaxman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2017

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:04 AM

I want to take a photo via my Nikon D5300 (no I don't want to buy another dedicated camera). If I take a few dozen photos of a sunspot, with tracking setup, will it work? I have focus problems and everyone suggests to get a dedicated camera, which I can not afford. So I want to work with what I have. Any ideas would greatly be appreciated. 

 

Thank you. 



#2 Remaxman

Remaxman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2017

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:05 AM

And yes I have a baader sun filter



#3 happylimpet

happylimpet

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2013
  • Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:08 AM

Maybe video mode and than autostakkert would work? Thats what I'd try first.



#4 gdd

gdd

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2315
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Lynnwood, WA (N/O Seattle)

Posted 12 September 2017 - 11:13 AM

I have stacked both jpeg single frames and video clips with my DSLR. I use PIPP to convert the jpegs and the mov files to avi files that AutoStakkert can process. AS2! had problems with full size jpegs so I used PIPP to crop the resulting avi file. The 64bit AS3! should be able to handle the full size frames.

 

Gale


Edited by gdd, 12 September 2017 - 08:40 PM.

  • leveye likes this

#5 leveye

leveye

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3274
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013
  • Loc: Central Oregon Coast

Posted 12 September 2017 - 01:22 PM

After stacking in AS!3 you can then put it into registax6 and use wavelets to slightly sharpen it.



#6 Remaxman

Remaxman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2017

Posted 12 September 2017 - 04:17 PM

I should add I have only a Mac and no windows. So a lot of apps are only in windows. 



#7 happylimpet

happylimpet

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2013
  • Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 13 September 2017 - 05:50 AM

I should add I have only a Mac and no windows. So a lot of apps are only in windows. 

That's not ideal. All the best processing software is PC. Can you get an emulator?


  • t_image likes this

#8 Remaxman

Remaxman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2017

Posted 13 September 2017 - 09:05 AM

 

I should add I have only a Mac and no windows. So a lot of apps are only in windows. 

That's not ideal. All the best processing software is PC. Can you get an emulator?

 

I tried a few. They want you to buy windows. Is there a way to do it for free?



#9 happylimpet

happylimpet

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2013
  • Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 13 September 2017 - 10:01 AM

Sorry, no idea. I use a PC. I got the impression from other posts that its possible. Having said that, second hand laptops are very cheap.



#10 G. Hatfield

G. Hatfield

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1514
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2009
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 13 September 2017 - 07:23 PM

Why do you want to stack?  This is usually done with relatively dark images to reduce noise.  But with pics of sunspots, you have a very bright image with little noise.  

 

George



#11 Remaxman

Remaxman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2017

Posted 13 September 2017 - 08:45 PM

Why do you want to stack?  This is usually done with relatively dark images to reduce noise.  But with pics of sunspots, you have a very bright image with little noise.  

 

George

Im having focus problems with the ETX and Nikon DSLR



#12 happylimpet

happylimpet

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1735
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2013
  • Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 14 September 2017 - 04:56 AM

Why do you want to stack?  This is usually done with relatively dark images to reduce noise.  But with pics of sunspots, you have a very bright image with little noise.  

 

George

Its also done with bright images to extract the fine detail which is present at a low SNR even in well exposed images of bright objects.  Have a look at the solar system imaging forum, everything is stacked.


  • t_image likes this

#13 t_image

t_image

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1681
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2015

Posted 14 September 2017 - 11:52 AM

 

 

I should add I have only a Mac and no windows. So a lot of apps are only in windows. 

That's not ideal. All the best processing software is PC. Can you get an emulator?

 

I tried a few. They want you to buy windows. Is there a way to do it for free?

funnypost.gif hahahahahhahahahha

A Mac user wanting to do something for free.

So many years people were telling me macs were soooo much better with graphics and video work,

and I never found it the case, even opposite that Apple wouldn't play well with many video camera codecs,

having so much pride in being exclusively proprietary,

while I could built the latest and fastest PC from parts that could run circles around the latest mac for 25% the price,

as the apple fans had to wait for apple to decide to release some overpriced model.

Apple sure blew it currently with their latest Mac Pro that isn't even out yet with Xeon Chips that will be put to shame by Intel I9 and AMD Ryzen PCs.....

And the prices are a complete rip-off.

https://petapixel.co...0-pc-amd-ryzen/

 

Sorry I can't have much compassion for mac users....

Less for someone that wants to use software without consider the labors and efforts of software designers that don't work for Apple.



#14 t_image

t_image

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1681
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2015

Posted 14 September 2017 - 12:08 PM

I'm having focus problems with the ETX and Nikon DSLR

https://www.dpreview.../thread/3503924

 

I focus my ILC by connecting it to a larger display that receives a HDMI signal.

You just need to pull a monitor out out long enough to get focus. No need to keep it attached to your rig.

Large liveview to turn the knob until focus is nice and easy.

There are some cheap 7" portable displays out there.

Can't you also connect via wifi to a computer and see liveview to focus??

You can get 1080 out from the D5300 HDMI unlike many Canon cameras. See the solution in the link about the menu option.

Whitelight is more challenging if you don't have a sunspot to focus. But then again, what is so interesting about a blank Sun?



#15 pastortim

pastortim

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 380
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2015
  • Loc: N.E. Missouri

Posted 15 September 2017 - 07:06 AM

Please lets keep it respectful, we all have problems at times no matter what equipment we use.........tim



#16 Remaxman

Remaxman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2017

Posted 15 September 2017 - 08:03 AM

Please lets keep it respectful, we all have problems at times no matter what equipment we use.........tim

thanks Tim :)



#17 G. Hatfield

G. Hatfield

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1514
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2009
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 15 September 2017 - 12:54 PM

I would be interested to see the difference stacking makes for images of the sun.  Thanks in advance.

 

George



#18 Remaxman

Remaxman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2017

Posted 15 September 2017 - 12:59 PM

For sure George. I will post them here when I'm done. Waiting for a cloudless day :)


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.







Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics