•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

h-alpha or full spectrum conversion?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 dhtx16

dhtx16

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 September 2017 - 03:21 PM

Hello everyone, I own a Nikon D5300 which I use with my Orion 80mm ED for imaging. I am fairly new to the hobby of astrophotography, but I am already thinking of doing a conversion to it so I can get the best results. I am bit confused on what is best for me b/c I still want to use my camera for daylight imaging. Do I need an IR/UV cut filter? (from what I've already read on CN) If so, which one exactly? I'd greatly appreciate it if someone can post sample pictures with a similar setup like mine. Thanks!

#2 BryanGx

BryanGx

Explorer 1

• Loc: Syracuse, NY

Posted 13 September 2017 - 04:10 PM

Since you're new to astrophotography, my advice would be to leave your DSLR alone.  An unmodified DSLR is still a really good astrophotography tool as you build more and more skill. 

Dedicated CMOS astro cameras have gotten so good in the last few years, they've become better than DSLRs (even modified DSLRs).  The ZWO ASI1600 is one example.  Good CMOS units, with cooling capabilities, can also do double duty as both a good planetary camera and a good deep sky camera.  A DSLR isn't well suited for planetary imaging. 

I would build more skill with the unmodified Nikon, then invest in a good CMOS camera down the road. 

• Stelios likes this

#3 Stelios

Stelios

Skylab

• Loc: West Hills, CA

Posted 13 September 2017 - 04:30 PM

+1 on the above. Keep the DSLR. Mods made much more sense a few years ago. 

#4 ebeygin

ebeygin

Vostok 1

• Loc: King City Ontario, Canada

Posted 13 September 2017 - 07:26 PM

I have a modded D5300, and an orion e80, so I guess i HAVE to respond smile.gif)

Actually, I agree with the above comments.