Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

PHD2 Has Changed All By Itself?

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 GeneralT001

GeneralT001

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1564
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2012
  • Loc: Nanaimo, BC

Posted 13 September 2017 - 10:48 PM

I started things up tonight and here is a screen shot of PHD2:

 

PHD2.JPG

 

I didn't change anything and now I don't have any RA adjustments and the guiding algorithm for Dec is on Resist Switch - which I have never used (always Hysterisis)? How is this possible?

 

On a good note the guiding looks good!



#2 rockstarbill

rockstarbill

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2319
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2013
  • Loc: Snohomish, WA

Posted 13 September 2017 - 11:11 PM

Very strange. We use the same mount (although I use the Dev8 build of PHD2) and I do not get this same result after calibration. 

 

Guide graphs are one thing, how are the images?



#3 Jon Rista

Jon Rista

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 17701
  • Joined: 10 Jan 2014
  • Loc: Colorado

Posted 13 September 2017 - 11:18 PM

Did you upgrade PHD2? It might have reset some stuff during installation.



#4 GeneralT001

GeneralT001

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1564
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2012
  • Loc: Nanaimo, BC

Posted 13 September 2017 - 11:32 PM

I do have 2 versions on the computer - I thought separately though (2.63 and 2.63 dev 8). I am using 2.63 tonight - but I guess some of the files are being shared even though I installed the dev version to a different folder?



#5 Whuppy

Whuppy

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 666
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2013
  • Loc: Ortonville, MI

Posted 14 September 2017 - 09:55 AM

Do you have more than 1 profile configured? It may have switched?

#6 nebulasaurus

nebulasaurus

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Mostly Cloudy New Hampshire

Posted 14 September 2017 - 06:34 PM

I had the same thing happen the other night.  I think the profile got corrupted.

 

I just deleted it and re-created it.

 

J.



#7 GeneralT001

GeneralT001

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1564
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2012
  • Loc: Nanaimo, BC

Posted 15 September 2017 - 02:00 AM

Yes, probably what happened. I think I will just use dev 8 from now on.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.







Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics