•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner Setup... What's missing?

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OutThere

OutThere

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Hood River, OR

Posted 14 September 2017 - 12:26 AM

Hello "Nightonians",

Where to Start... Ok, as some already know I am new to this hobby. I have tried to set myself up with a quality "Starter Kit", one that I can also grow with. So far my setup includes: Zhumell Z8, Baader Hyperion Mark IV Zoom, Zhumell 2x Barlow, Telrad, accessory case, planisphere, Turn Left at Orion (book), and small red flashlight.

...I just recently received (previously back ordered) what I thought would complete my entry package, an 8" solar filter made by Orion. Unfortunately, I have discovered it is not compatible with my Z8 (will not fit).

...Now the question is do I return the filter for another useful item, or can someone recommend a filter that will actually fit the Z8?...

Any suggestions?... Is a solar filter worth the investment early on?... Is there a more usual item I should be considering when starting out?...

I am simply trying to make the most out of this mishap and turn it around for the positive.

Thank you!

#2 Diana N

Diana N

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Omaha, Nebraska

Posted 14 September 2017 - 12:38 AM

I don't see any mention of an adjustable stool/observer's chair, star charts (either old-fashioned paper such as Sky Atlas 2000 or electronic tablet/laptop versions) or a small fold-up table to put accessories on.  I'd get those before buying a solar filter.  (And if you can't get a premodern filter for your Z8, making one yourself is an easy project.)

• paul m schofield and 2Barrel like this

#3 Spockk

Spockk

Mariner 2

• Loc: Ogden Utah

Posted 14 September 2017 - 01:44 AM