•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Moving from an SCT

• Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#1 cukleti

cukleti

Mariner 2

• topic starter

Posted 22 October 2017 - 07:08 PM

Gents

I have been an avid amateur astronomer for years now. I’ve had mostly mak’s and SCT’s. Don’t get me wrong, the viewes through some of them were great. Until now. I had a chance to look through an 80mm APO Triplet and I have never seen a view like that.

No, it wasn’t brighter on planets, but it certainly gave me a wow effect while looking at Clusters, some nebulas and just generally the sky. I’ve never seen stars like that, so perfect. I couldn’t believe it was coming from an 80mm scope. 

So so now I come to you to seek advise. I currently have an 8” Edge HD. But no matter how many times I look through it, I can’t forget the views I saw from the APO. 

My budget is about $3500. I would like a 4” or 5” ( Dont know if it’s worth the 1k jump). I’ve read reviewes on all sorts of refractors. TAK would be my number 1 choice but it’s out of my price range, so I’ve decided on either William Optics or Stellarvue, or anything else above average. 

Your tboughts and experiences are greatly appreciated. 

• mikeDnight likes this

#2 HowardSkies

HowardSkies

Vostok 1

Posted 22 October 2017 - 07:26 PM

I would recommend going for the extra inch. 

4x4= 16

vs

5x5= 25

and this is an over 50% increase (25/16) in light gathering which will help on DSO especially under dark skies

planet viewing will be better

The larger scope will be heavier and your mount will have to reflect this

#3 junomike

junomike

Voyager 1

• Moderators
  • Loc: Ontario

Posted 22 October 2017 - 07:44 PM

Just above your budget but a Tak and near 5".

• Kunama and Allan Wade like this

#4 cukleti

cukleti

Mariner 2

• topic starter

Posted 22 October 2017 - 07:46 PM