•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Some questions on adding Ha to LRGB/RGB

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 jtrezzo

jtrezzo

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: St. Petersburg, FL

Posted 14 November 2017 - 01:00 PM

So this is a bit of a hodgepodge of questions regarding Ha and LRGB combination that I've been struggling with, and just keep finding a bunch of related but not exact answers to my questions, so hoping to clarify things a bit here...I am just starting out with most of this mono stuff and the processing is quite a bit more challenging than OSC.

1. What is the best method for adding Ha to an already processed color image? For example I have some Ha data of M31 and an already processed M31 from my OSC and want to add it. Do I have to go back and start all processing from scratch or is there some way to add it in reasonably well without starting over? 

2. When adding Ha to LRGB (let's say from scratch this time) should you process the Ha individually first (i.e. noise reduction, curves, etc.) or just combine it with L and R channel at the start and then go about everything else normally? What is the best ratio of combination to use? I have been using PixelMath to say something like "L + 0.8*Ha" or "R + 0.5*Ha) - not sure if that is the best way to do it.

3. For emission nebula like the California Nebula, is there any benefit to doing HaLRGB, or is just HaRGB fine? I've been looking up images of it and I am finding a lot that are just HaRGB. I ask because I have a bunch of Ha on it and want to start adding color and not sure if I need to get Luminance. What benefit would it provide, if any? Are there any guidelines for when to use HaLRGB vs just HaRGB? 

Edited by jtrezzo, 14 November 2017 - 01:04 PM.

#2 KBALLZZ

KBALLZZ

Explorer 1

Posted 14 November 2017 - 01:44 PM