•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What's wrong with my data? M31...

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 jag32

jag32

Viking 1

• topic starter

Posted 14 November 2017 - 07:02 PM

This is my first attempt with my new Pentax K1 of M31 with data consisting of the below details.  The issue i'm having is that when I stretch the stacked image, the entire left side "above" where M31 is pointing seems to blowout, like the entire black sky background also turns light (it looks like M31 is throwing up), I can't figure out why:

-Pentax K1 at ISO 800

-5 subs at 600 seconds (10 minutes) each

-50 minutes total integration time 

-Stacked in DSS with flats, bias, and darks.

-Takahashi FC-76DCU refractor (76mm aperture)

-MGEN II autoguider

-Orange skies (not sure if this is light pollution??)

I do think my first attempt with my unmodified K1 came out pretty decent, especially with no flattener and just 50 mins total integration, but I have no idea what's going on with the skies to the left of M31?  Here is the link to the raw stacked data:  

https://www.dropbox....ration.TIF?dl=0

And the next 2 posts will have screenshots of the difference... below is a screenshot of the image before stretching:

Attached Thumbnails

• Screen Shot 2017-11-14 at 6.58.22 PM.png

#2 jag32

jag32

Viking 1

• topic starter

Posted 14 November 2017 - 07:06 PM

Stretched in Photoshop CS5, no other processing:

Attached Thumbnails

• Screen Shot 2017-11-14 at 7.05.31 PM.png

#3 jag32

jag32

Viking 1

• topic starter

Posted 14 November 2017 - 07:06 PM

Wow, the upload on here really reduced the quality.  The raw data at the dropbox will give a much better idea.

#4 StarryHill

StarryHill

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 14 November 2017 - 07:41 PM