Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Your OpenGL System Has Problems-Stellarium Not Working

equipment observing planetarium software
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Aperture Mask

Aperture Mask

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 590
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2017

Posted 17 November 2017 - 09:00 PM

Had the 0.15.0 version of Stellarium. Got a popup "your openGL system has problems". Deleted the old version and got same popup with the new version. How can I fix this problem? Do you know of a system as good as the 0.15.0 version or better. I have Windows 7/64 bit. Geeks don't understand, most people don't think like them. Thus, they make everything complicated. Thanks for your help. 



#2 DLuders

DLuders

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3047
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 17 November 2017 - 09:11 PM

You should just "Uninstall" Stellarium 0.15.0  and install the newer Stellarium 0.16.1.  There are some nice features to it:  https://www.youtube....h?v=2v3lgtZRUQQ  .  You could download the Stellarium User Guide https://ayera.dl.sou...de-0.16.1-1.pdf  to troubleshoot.


Edited by DLuders, 17 November 2017 - 09:13 PM.


#3 Aperture Mask

Aperture Mask

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 590
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2017

Posted 17 November 2017 - 09:31 PM

You should just "Uninstall" Stellarium 0.15.0  and install the newer Stellarium 0.16.1.  There are some nice features to it:  https://www.youtube....h?v=2v3lgtZRUQQ  .  You could download the Stellarium User Guide https://ayera.dl.sou...de-0.16.1-1.pdf  to troubleshoot.

Thanks for your help. I tried that, but got the same popup.



#4 Michael Covington

Michael Covington

    Author

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 4483
  • Joined: 13 May 2014
  • Loc: Athens, Georgia, USA

Posted 17 November 2017 - 09:32 PM

OK, open one of the other Stellarium start buttons other than the default one.  For example, on my aging laptop I use "Stellarium - Angle Warp mode."   They use different graphics drivers.



#5 MarioJumanji

MarioJumanji

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Missouri

Posted 17 November 2017 - 09:46 PM

If it was working and then it stopped, there may be a problem with your video drivers. You might need to reinstall the latest version of the drivers for your video card.

#6 DLuders

DLuders

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3047
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 17 November 2017 - 09:47 PM

Yes, it is a problem with graphic drivers.  Read this explanation about how to resolve similar problems that occurred with older Stellarium programs:  https://answers.laun...arium/ faq/2570


  • Michael Covington likes this

#7 Aperture Mask

Aperture Mask

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 590
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2017

Posted 17 November 2017 - 10:09 PM

Yes, it is a problem with graphic drivers.  Read this explanation about how to resolve similar problems that occurred with older Stellarium programs:  https://answers.laun...arium/ faq/2570

Cool



#8 rutherfordt

rutherfordt

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 484
  • Joined: 07 May 2006
  • Loc: Northeast Tennessee USA

Posted 18 November 2017 - 10:20 AM

The same thing has happened to me-- Win7, 32-bit.  Got the same error message as above-- installing the latest version didn't help.

 

Tom



#9 Aperture Mask

Aperture Mask

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 590
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2017

Posted 18 November 2017 - 03:05 PM

The same thing has happened to me-- Win7, 32-bit.  Got the same error message as above-- installing the latest version didn't help.

 

Tom

What do you use in place of Stellarium?



#10 rutherfordt

rutherfordt

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 484
  • Joined: 07 May 2006
  • Loc: Northeast Tennessee USA

Posted 19 November 2017 - 10:53 AM

It works on a different computer so I just us that one-- inconvenient though that sometimes is.

 

Tom



#11 goodricke1

goodricke1

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 506
  • Joined: 18 May 2013
  • Loc: Ireland

Posted 19 November 2017 - 11:00 AM

It appears Stellarium.org was moved to another webhost on Friday, which might be of some relevance to your issue:

 

https://stargazerslo...comment=3323505


  • AndresEsteban likes this

#12 AndresEsteban

AndresEsteban

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 261
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2013
  • Loc: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Posted 24 July 2018 - 06:58 PM

It appears Stellarium.org was moved to another webhost on Friday, which might be of some relevance to your issue:

 

https://stargazerslo...comment=3323505

When these kind of things happens, the best approach is to go to Configurations [F2], Plugins and uncheck those plugins that need internet update (uncheck "Load at startup"), like "Bright Novae" and "Satellites" and that's it! Later, on other day, these plugin may be checked again in order to verify if servers are ok, if not, in those seconds when program loads, just press F2, go to Plugins and uncheck them again. 
Remember there's a log file that can be seen in the main Stellarium Menu at windows Start Menu/Programs/Stellarium. The file log.txt is written every time the prog is run and it's useful to debug (which was how I found the problem), and its location is C:\users\...\AppData\Roaming\Stellarium\log.txt.
Hope this solves the issue.

Clear skies!
Andy




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: equipment, observing, planetarium software



Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics