•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First Try At M31

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 lynnelkriver

lynnelkriver

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 07 December 2017 - 02:33 PM

This is my first try at a DSO (M31) with my Stellarvue SV90TBV refractor at Prime focus on a SkyView Pro mount.  My camera is a older generation Canon Rebel XSI DSLR. I know I have a long way to go to get amazing photos that I have seen through the years on Cloudy Nights web site. I was surprised at what one could do with a simple mount, a older DSLR, and no auto-guiding. The details of the photo are as follows:

Lights: 91 RAW photos (60 second exposures at ISO1600, F7 through the Stellarvue refractor).

Darks: 10 RAW photos (60 second exposures at ISO1600, telescope lens covered).

Bias: 10 RAW photos (1/4000 second exposures at ISO1600).

Flats: 10 RAW photos taken of my off white colored garage wall with same imaging train.  Looking for suggestions on proper way to collecting flats!

The above images were stacked and initial post processing through Deep Sky Stacker (DSS) software.  Final processing with GIMP software. 

Appreciate any comments in advance.  Thanks! Scott

Compressed M31.jpg

• Carol L, Starman27, mikewayne3 and 13 others like this

#2 poobie

poobie

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Tuscaloosa, AL

Posted 07 December 2017 - 02:43 PM

for a first effort, this is amazing.  Well done.