•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Low-end scope at outreach events?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
77 replies to this topic

#1 amzking

amzking

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Space Coast, Florida

Posted 31 December 2017 - 04:29 PM

I am new to astronomy, I have joined my local astronomy club and have now attended two outreach events. Last night was our big night, we got well over 1000 people with I believe 8 or 9 scopes, lines at every scope all night long.

Here's my thought. Aside from a nonpowered 10" dob, my 8" Edge SCT was by far cheapest setup there. It was also the smallest aperture aside from what I am sure is an extremely expensive astrophotography setup with a refractor. Despite that, the crowds were sufficiently wowed by one of my favorite little clusters, the Owl cluster.

Several people asked me how much my scope cost. I was too busy to know if they asked the other scope owners the same thing, but my guess is that because my scope was the least imposing of the bunch, they thought they would ask me. My answer, $2400 plus accessories, I am sure was shocking to many.

Now as a newbie, I can tell you that if I attended a star party with the hopes of maybe getting an idea of which telescope to buy, I would have left there quite discouraged. There were tens of thousands of dollars worth of equipment there, but nothing in the under-$500 range to show people that yes, this hobby can at least start out reasonably affordable.

Do any of you outreach folks ever have a "cheap beginner" scope at your events, with maybe some basic instruction on how it works? Maybe to show people that a "cheap" scope will still show beautiful things? I would love to hear about your experiences if you have. I am considering floating this idea to the club for our next major outreach in February.

#2 leveye

leveye

Aurora