•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Tripod for binoculars

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Pedrita

Pedrita

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 January 2018 - 08:20 PM

Hello guys

I am new to the hobby, just got a Celestron 25x70 and I would like to get a tripod for stargazing.

Any suggestion?

#2 amzking

amzking

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Space Coast, Florida

Posted 05 January 2018 - 08:42 PM

Unfortunately tripods for binos are not great, trying to observe at any point above 45 degrees involves contortions I cannot make.  Many people use parallelogram mounts for binos, but they are expensive.  This is on my long-term want list, but not for now.  You can use a tripod with a simple, inexpensive adaptor, but observing at greater altitudes will be annoying.  Do a search for "parallelogram mount for binoculars." 

#3 Pedrita

Pedrita

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 05 January 2018 - 09:23 PM

I will check it out.

Thank you 

#4 B l a k S t a r

B l a k S t a r

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Posted 05 January 2018 - 10:15 PM

I use an adapter on a photo tripod for my 10x50's. Closest to zenith I get is sitting with the tripod legs adjusted short on either side of the chair and pivoted back toward me, effectively I become the third leg. Your binos may be a tad heavy for many photo tripods. I use a video head to handle my 25x100's. Have a search through the binocular forum to see what folks are using for the weight of yours. A shakey mount is an exercise in frustration bordering on madness. 

#5 clearwaterdave

clearwaterdave

Skylab

• ****-
  • Loc: Western Maine

Posted 05 January 2018 - 10:19 PM

Take a look in the binocular forum.,Here is what I made for my 15x70's

Attached Thumbnails

• 20170411_131120.jpg

• paulymo, AndrewXnn and amzking like this

#6 amzking