•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Please help me decide on a binoviewer

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 unicon

unicon

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 January 2018 - 08:27 PM

I'm completely new to telescopes having recently ordered my first scope (a Skywatcher 12" collapsible goto dob) which will be delivered next week. 

Ever since I ordered it, have been looking for a good binoviewer that would work with it. Based on reading online reviews and my own limited viewing

experience I'm sure getting a binoviewer is the way to go.

I have read lot of posts/reviews online about different binoviewers, but the more I read the more confusing it gets. So thought will be better to

get input for my specific scope. 

Since this will be my only scope (for the foreseeable future) I would be using it for both planetary and DSO viewing. Budget-wise I would like to 

keep it under $1K (including eye-pieces), though can go a bit higher if there is a significant improvement in performance  (I understand that

"significant" is very subjective).  Also most of viewing will be from my backyard, so will have to deal with a bit of light pollution. 

So based on that I have narrowed it down to the following 4 choices, in increasing order of cost. With the first 3 choices, I'm thinking of getting

a pair of Hyperion Mark IV 8-24mm zoom eye pieces. 

1. Arcturus binoviewer with Two 30mm Plossl Eyepieces and 2 Barlows (1.8x and 3.0x)  ~$170

Based on what I have read, optically this is same as the other 2 below, but I'm kind of wary that

with such a low price, the eyepieces and barlows will be low quality. Is that the case?

2. WO binoviewer with 2 20mm Plossl Eyepieces and 1 barlow (1.6x)   ~$270

This one I have read the most positive reviews about and am currently leaning most towards it.