Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Nebulosity Synthetic Flat Fielder inoperative?

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MCovington

MCovington

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3691
  • Joined: 13 May 2014
  • Loc: Michael Covington - Athens, Georgia

Posted 13 January 2018 - 01:58 AM

In both Nebulosity 4.1.0 and 4.1.7 (under a trial license), the Synthetic Flat Field tool launches an empty command window followed by a plain white window, and then just sits there indefinitely.

 

What's wrong?  I am opening it with an image already open in Nebulosity, an image with a gradient in it.

 



#2 Tapio

Tapio

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1601
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 13 January 2018 - 02:34 AM

Maybe it's not working in trial.
http://youtu.be/zRzmLmby1Uk

#3 MCovington

MCovington

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3691
  • Joined: 13 May 2014
  • Loc: Michael Covington - Athens, Georgia

Posted 13 January 2018 - 10:54 AM

That occurred to me, although a message saying so would have been welcome.



#4 MCovington

MCovington

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3691
  • Joined: 13 May 2014
  • Loc: Michael Covington - Athens, Georgia

Posted 13 January 2018 - 11:49 AM

It works in Nebulosity 3.3.3.  I am guessing it is something to do with configuration for shelling out to a Python program in 4.



#5 Ron359

Ron359

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2008
  • Loc: -105 +39

Posted 13 January 2018 - 12:47 PM

I use Neb. 4.1 on Macs.  The flat fielder has been working fine for me since it came out a few years ago.  Its tricky to use effectively, but it works.  I don't think it was in the v. 3.3 and came out under v.4, but I could be not remembering that correctly -been too long.   Its probably something to do with the trial version if thats what your using.  

 

- one thing thats easy to check, is that some features opened behind the main window so it looks like they are not opening or running.  I haven't had this happen lately, but it was an annoyance in v.3 and earlier.  


Edited by Ron359, 13 January 2018 - 12:52 PM.


#6 MCovington

MCovington

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3691
  • Joined: 13 May 2014
  • Loc: Michael Covington - Athens, Georgia

Posted 13 January 2018 - 03:47 PM

Replicated on another computer (also Windows 10, 64-bit).




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.







Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics