Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

USB 3.0 cable: how long can I go between the mount and laptop?

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Stephanh

Stephanh

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 645
  • Joined: 14 May 2016

Posted 17 February 2018 - 02:27 PM

How long of a USB 3.0 cable can I run between the mount/scope to the laptop  without having problems?

I would be using a powered hub at the mount.

 

 

thanks

 

 



#2 Lite2

Lite2

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 321
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2017
  • Loc: USA, Indiana

Posted 17 February 2018 - 02:48 PM

I'm running this with no problems.

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1


  • leveye likes this

#3 Jim Davis

Jim Davis

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3568
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2014
  • Loc: Lewisberry, PA

Posted 17 February 2018 - 02:53 PM

The maximum length of a USB 3 cable is 9 ft. To go beyond that you need a repeater cable or some type of USB over CAT6 extender.


  • Jim Waters likes this

#4 ksouers

ksouers

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 72
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2017
  • Loc: St. Louis (close enough)

Posted 17 February 2018 - 02:53 PM

I don't know what the max is but I've got 40 feet of cable from my office to the mount.

That's a 25 foot active repeater cable: https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and a 15 foot USB 3.0 extension cable. Powered USB 3.0 hub at either end, one in my office the other at the mount running the guide cam, mount, focuser and imaging camera.

 

Haven't had a hiccup yet, though a rabbit chewed through an extension cable. The cable now runs through PVC pipe.

 

Kevin



#5 leveye

leveye

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013
  • Loc: Central Oregon Coast

Posted 17 February 2018 - 02:58 PM

Don't run over 9 ft standard 3.0 from the device to the repeater. Tripp-Lite has heavy duty 65 ft USB 3.0  active repeater for around 70 dollars. Works like a champ.


Edited by leveye, 17 February 2018 - 02:59 PM.


#6 Stephanh

Stephanh

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 645
  • Joined: 14 May 2016

Posted 17 February 2018 - 03:12 PM

I'm running this with no problems.

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Does the  Tripp Lite cable require a power supply if I was to use it with a powered hub?



#7 Lite2

Lite2

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 321
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2017
  • Loc: USA, Indiana

Posted 17 February 2018 - 03:32 PM

 

I'm running this with no problems.

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Does the  Tripp Lite cable require a power supply if I was to use it with a powered hub?

 

I am not using a power supply for the extender itself but do have a 4 port powered hub at the mount end.



#8 Pauls72

Pauls72

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2081
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2007
  • Loc: LaPorte, IN USA

Posted 17 February 2018 - 03:45 PM

The USB3 specifications call for a maximum cable length of 3 meters (9' 10"). The problem is a lot of the chepo cables don't work well at this length because they have too much voltage and signal loss. Even some of the cheap USB chips in devices can be a problem. Using standard cables every 3 meters you should have a powered repeater or powered hub.

 

USB was designed for connecting devices directly to a computer and not for long distance power and data transmission. If you want to go beyond the 3 meter limitation, you need to use one of these specialized cables or convert to another medium in the middle (i.e. something like Ethernet).



#9 leveye

leveye

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2013
  • Loc: Central Oregon Coast

Posted 17 February 2018 - 04:00 PM

Ethernet extenders for 3.0 are still too pricey. Get the Tripp-lite active repeater.



#10 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1273
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 17 February 2018 - 04:13 PM

Like Jim said above, get a USB 3 repeater cable.  I am using a 10 meter cable.



#11 ManicSponge

ManicSponge

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 972
  • Joined: 29 Nov 2013
  • Loc: Full time RV wanderer

Posted 18 February 2018 - 11:56 AM

Trip lite 30', and a Star Tech USB 3 powered hub have served me well. I get a few random crashes, sometimes from PHD2, and occasionally from APT. I cannot say they are caused by the USB length. Even if they were, the ability to sit inside like a weenie is worth the occasional hassle.
Regards, Kyle

#12 TareqPhoto

TareqPhoto

    Mercury-Atlas

  • -----
  • Posts: 2859
  • Joined: 20 Feb 2017
  • Loc: Ajman - UAE

Posted 18 February 2018 - 08:50 PM

For now i use 3meter [about 10ft] USB3.0 cable but only for my imaging camera to a single port for it, while all other devices are to a hub [non powered] USB2.0 cables also 3 meters, i am planning to get longer for USB2.0, but i did read that USB3.0 maximum practical is about 9ft, so it is not logic i buy 5m for ubs2 cables and stay with 3m for usb3.

 

I would like to go with repeater, but for now i keep my laptop closer to the mount, so 3meter is sufficient for now, but i do have an extender or repeater of usb3.0 that i would like to try it, so i can keep my PC a bit far from the mount without causing problems with cables, i have to think about cables managing too.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics