•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking to Upgrade my Current EAA Camera

EAA
  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 iam1ru12

iam1ru12

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Raleigh/Durham, NC

Posted 25 February 2018 - 03:43 PM

I’m stuck in the analysis paralysis stage and unfortunately, I don’t have the technical background to get anything more of the research I’ve done.  Therefore, I’m hoping I can get some opinions and recommendations.

I’ve been using my AVS MK-IV for almost 4 years now (but only seriously for about 1.5 years in that for the past 1.5 years I have rarely placed an eyepiece into either one of my telescopes.  However, it’s time to upgrade and get away from the analog to digital conversion as well as the limited resolution and narrow FOV of my existing camera.

Here’s a little about how I’ve been doing EEA.  I use Sharpcap on a Minex NEO Z83 Windows 10 platform with the output to a 24” 12v computer monitor.  My set up is USB 3.0 ready.  My choice of targets ranges from the small, dim galaxies of the Herschel 400 to large nebula and I like to view in color, so mono is out for me.  I also do a fair amount of outreach, 6 to 9 events a year.  I would have done more planets, but the AVS MK-IV was never as good on the planets as the mark 1 human eyeball.  I’m in North Carolina but I travel to various star parties on the East Coast, so humidity and dew are always a concern.  I only do EAA, no imaging or post processing.  I typically try to observe a dozen+ or so objects and spend 10 fifteen minutes on each trying out different exposures and settings on each to maximize details.  Then I take a simple screen shot for my logs.