•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Solar Alignment with Celestron Nexstar Evolution

beginner SCT solar Celestron
  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 sandconp

sandconp

Mariner 2

• topic starter
  • Loc: Minnesota USA

Posted 26 February 2018 - 04:16 PM

I am a newbie to astronomy and I would like to try looking at the sun.  I have the Astrozap solar filter and I am using Star Sense on my Nexstar Evolution 8 SCT scope.

What is all involved to perform a solar alignment during the day? How is the solar alignment done when I am unable to use the Star Sense Camera?

I have been warned to make sure to cap off my Star Sense camera and finder scope so I don't damage the equipment or my eyesight. 

#2 Bean614

Bean614

Viking 1

• Loc: Mass.

Posted 26 February 2018 - 04:25 PM

Actually, the info is in the Owner's Manual.  Give it a read!

#3 Don W

Don W

demi-god

• Administrators
  • Loc: Wisconsin, USA

Posted 26 February 2018 - 08:20 PM

The sun is hidden from the main menu. You have to go to settings and enable it. Once you've done so, it will be in the solar system objects menu and you choose it. You move the scope by the handcontrol to center the sun and it should track it. Make certain you have a cover on the finder and the solar filter over the front of the scope.

• Bob3137 and Wire like this

#4 Michael_Swanson

Michael_Swanson

Vanguard

Posted 26 February 2018 - 08:46 PM

From my book, "The NexStar User's Guide II":

Solar System Align with StarSense Hand Control

Solar System Align is designed to provide tracking and GoTo during daytime use.
This is generally useful for solar viewing, although you can also use it to locate and
view the Moon and brighter planets during the day. Additionally, it can be used to
align on one of the bright planets or the Moon early in the evening before any stars
are visible.