•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ETX-125 finder scope

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 NearVision

NearVision

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: SE Wisconsin

Posted 05 March 2018 - 10:54 PM

Hi all,

I have a question or 2 to pose for thoughts, consideration, recommendations. I'm somewhat new to astronomy but have used a 35mm camera since the 70's. So I know how lenses work. At least on this planet. undecided.gif

What I'm running up against is finding things to look at. Here's what I mean. The ETX-125 has goto functionality and I use it, but it's often 'close' to what I want to see, but not in view of the scope. The finder scope that came with was worthless, so it  quickly got replaced with a Rigel QuikFinder. I bought the ETX used, so I don't think the finder was original.

But, what I'm finding now is that will the QuikFinder is great and really helps me zero in, I still have to be able to see at least a dim spot of light in the sky to use it.

I'm thinking that a 'larger' finder scope would help. By larger I mean something that would gather more light over a wider field of view. Just like a camera lens that is wider aperture and lower f-stop shows a brighter image in the view-finder.

What I looked at was the Meade LightBridge mini 82. It's an 82x300 reflector. What I planned on was to mount it on top or to the side of the ETX body and use it as a finder. I've looked at smaller finders 24 - 60mm, but I'm a little concerned that they mat not be bright enough for me to see.

I know that 82mm is huge for a finder and would probably end looking like the space shuttle on it's carrier 747 on a trip back to the cape. :)

My other concern is the weight and how that would affect the drive mechanism in the ETX.