Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron 8SE Memory Power

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Dynan

Dynan

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1543
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 12 March 2018 - 11:19 AM

Simple (maybe dumb) question from a simple (maybe dumb) man:

 

Do the NexStar and StarSense hand controllers and/or mount have an internal battery for memory maintenance?

 

In other words, do I need to keep fresh AA batteries in the mount to maintain my Setup? If so, are NiMH good enough for memory maintenance? (I know the 1.2v batteries are not good enough for proper mount operation.)

 

Thanks in advance! Clear Skies!



#2 trurl

trurl

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10076
  • Joined: 10 Jul 2017
  • Loc: North Carolina

Posted 12 March 2018 - 11:32 AM

It remembers your location even without batteries. I don't think there is any way to keep the clock running without actually turning on the power.


  • jterrasa likes this

#3 jterrasa

jterrasa

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2017
  • Loc: San Juan, Puerto Rico

Posted 12 March 2018 - 12:30 PM

I understand it has flash memory, which does not require power. The mount and HC “remember” certain basic settings (like anti backlash settings and location) without batteries. It is better to leave AA batteries out altogether and don’t count on using them.

Edited by jterrasa, 12 March 2018 - 12:32 PM.


#4 Dynan

Dynan

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1543
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 12 March 2018 - 12:37 PM

Thanks for the input! Great folks here...


  • jterrasa likes this

#5 jterrasa

jterrasa

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2017
  • Loc: San Juan, Puerto Rico

Posted 12 March 2018 - 02:31 PM

Clear skies!

#6 Wire

Wire

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2016
  • Loc: Dundalk, MD

Posted 16 March 2018 - 08:01 PM

It remembers location, but you have to input date and time everytime you start it up. Unless you keep it on all the time and put it in hibernate mode when your not using it, it will keep all the settings that you made.



#7 tmyers

tmyers

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 138
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Kettering, OH

Posted 11 January 2019 - 10:31 AM

It is better to leave AA batteries out altogether and don’t count on using them.

 

So just to make sure, there is no problem not having internal batteries in the mount.



#8 mikerepp

mikerepp

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 634
  • Joined: 04 Aug 2014
  • Loc: Harwood Heights, Illinois, dark site Manistique, Michigan in UP

Posted 11 January 2019 - 03:53 PM

There are no internal batteries, the AA batteries are to run the mount if you don't have 12VDC external power.



#9 Noah4x4

Noah4x4

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2032
  • Joined: 07 Apr 2016
  • Loc: Colchester UK

Posted 13 January 2019 - 03:27 AM

My advice is never use AA batteries and always use a 12v DC external supply (Li-Po battery etc). AA batteries deplete too fast and then reduced power can mean erratic scope performance. You don't need them, leave battery box empty. Then no fear Of leakage etc. Use only an external supply. 


  • Dynan likes this

#10 tmyers

tmyers

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 138
  • Joined: 07 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Kettering, OH

Posted 13 January 2019 - 10:54 AM

I haven't used the AA batteries since u first got my LCM114, I just wasn't sure if the needed to be there for everything to operate. They are all pulled now.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics