Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

DSS master darks bias flats question

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Mickpope

Mickpope

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2017

Posted 14 March 2018 - 08:08 AM

Hi

 

I have a library for darks , flats and bias frames that I use for DSS. 

 

Each time I load each individual frame into DSS.

 

As there is already a master created for each, can I just load this single  master tiff file to save processing time

 

Mick


Edited by Mickpope, 14 March 2018 - 08:10 AM.


#2 happylimpet

happylimpet

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2526
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2013
  • Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 14 March 2018 - 08:53 AM

Yes.


  • gbeaton and Mickpope like this

#3 Mickpope

Mickpope

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2017

Posted 14 March 2018 - 09:10 AM

Sorted

 

Thank you


  • happylimpet likes this

#4 Melgabean

Melgabean

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 15 Jan 2018
  • Loc: Colorado

Posted 14 March 2018 - 01:25 PM

You should be taking new flats every time you image. As for the others though yes that works.
  • Mickpope likes this

#5 happylimpet

happylimpet

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2526
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2013
  • Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 15 March 2018 - 11:54 AM

You should be taking new flats every time you image. As for the others though yes that works.

Not always. Depends how reproducable your setup is.


  • sharkmelley and Mickpope like this

#6 Mickpope

Mickpope

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2017

Posted 15 March 2018 - 05:20 PM

Not always. Depends how reproducable your setup is.

I do tend to recycle my flats without  much trouble, only real change is target and iso which I keep a library for



#7 Melgabean

Melgabean

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 15 Jan 2018
  • Loc: Colorado

Posted 15 March 2018 - 05:33 PM

I never recycle flats. You can't predict where dust will end up in your optical train. Ideally your optical train would be dust free and then sure recycle them but dirt and dust be all "whatever I do what I want!" so I personally think it's worth spending the 10 minutes getting new flats.

#8 happylimpet

happylimpet

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2526
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2013
  • Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 16 March 2018 - 03:39 AM

I never recycle flats. You can't predict where dust will end up in your optical train. Ideally your optical train would be dust free and then sure recycle them but dirt and dust be all "whatever I do what I want!" so I personally think it's worth spending the 10 minutes getting new flats.

Haha yes, though in my train, the camera, OAG, filter wheel and coma corrector come off as a sealed unit, so no dust changes within. Maybe its less dusty over here also? The only thing that changes is the precise angle of connection - I'd like to be able to keep that more constant - but flats are certainly re-useable.


  • Mickpope likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics