•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron Advanced VX Questions

accessories
  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 dhayes68

dhayes68

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 March 2018 - 08:27 AM

Hello,

I’ve been goofing off with a C6a on a manual alt-ax mount for viewing and mostly lunar entry level AP. And now I’ve decided to step up and get a Celestron Advanced VX mount and I have 2 questions if anyone would be kind enough to give their thoughts on.

1. Buying the mount I have a choice of free accessory depending on where I buy from. A polar alignment tool or a PowerTank Go charger. Any ideas on which is the better choice? Or does it not make a difference since I’ll need them both anyway so I should choose the one with the more expensive accessory?

2. Being a beginner I don’t need an autoguider right away correct? It’s mostly for really long exposures and I should learn how to operate the VX before getting more advanced tech?

Thanks for any input!

#2 petert913

petert913

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Portland, OR

Posted 14 March 2018 - 08:45 AM

1.  I'd take the polar scope set up.   I've had two Celestron Powertanks die on me within a few months.  You can get a better power supply on line or at Harbor Freight anyway.

2.  You are correct.  Autoguiding and all the gear that goes with it will come later when you really get the imaging fever smile.gif

And despite what you will probably hear,  I've had my AVX mount for 4 yrs and never had a lick of trouble.  Go-To works great every time.

Edited by petert913, 14 March 2018 - 08:46 AM.

• Exnihilo, mpgxsvcd, grmaximus and 1 other like this

#3 rmollise

rmollise

ISS

Posted 14 March 2018 - 08:49 AM

Hello,