•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Alignment Problelm__go to off target

Celestron
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ToKepler

ToKepler

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 March 2018 - 12:32 PM

I'm a Newbie to Telescopes. My 7-year got a hand-me down Celestron 130SLT. I read through the manual and got it all lined up. The problem has been that it doesn't stay with the object being observed, the moon for instance. Within a minute falls our of view. From there I have to continually adjust it with the up-and-down-sideway arrows on the controller. This, of course throws the whole alignment out of sync and we are done for the night.--As there's no chance of slewing to a second object.

On a separate feed, Michael Swanson recommended I look at my power source. Michael has laboriously done the "leg work" on all things Celestron it appears. On the following link he game  http://www.nexstarsi...owerSources.htm he recommends a 12v-5amp (min) set up. Well, well... the power supply I got from Celestron has an output of 2.amps. That's not even half of the amps recommended--And this is where I am. Now I need to come up with the right power source. So if anyone is experiencing issues as I described please look at your power source set up. Why Celestron sells the half-baked power source beats me. Be that as it may, I am glad to be on the right track at solving this problem, with Michael's handy-dandy advise I shall "save the day" for my 7-year old and share on father-son wonderment of the celestial for years to come.  I'll shall update my findings next.  And Thank you Michael Swanson.

#2 jakecru

jakecru

Viking 1

• Loc: Northern Nevada, USA

Posted 21 March 2018 - 12:35 PM