•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Classic telescopes vs. best modern scopes

refractor optics observing
  • Please log in to reply
73 replies to this topic

#1 desert drifter

desert drifter

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Colorado

Posted 02 April 2018 - 06:03 PM

I, for one, really appreciate classic items.  I appreciate the old world craftsmanship.  Although I'm just starting out in viewing the skies and have a modest investment in equipment for a beginner I am looking to the future of finding the best in optics.

I've lurked around CN for months and noticed that Unitron seems to be an iconic classic telescope.  And checking the online auction site the prices for these scopes can reach into the 10 kilobuck range which puts me far, far from the bidding.  So here is my question.

For question sake assuming a top of the line classic telescope with 50's or 60's technology and materials.  How would it compare with a modern telescope of equal aperture, lens design and focal length?  It would seem to me that the state of the art modern telescope with CNC controlled parts, modern glass and superior coatings would excel in viewing for the observer at a fraction of the price.  Which of the two offerings will give the best, clearest and sharpest view?  Are the classics for the collectors and museums?

I would appreciate your comments and discussion on the subject.

Thanks

'drif

#2 DLuders

DLuders

Gemini

• Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 02 April 2018 - 06:14 PM

Classic reflector telescopes may need to have their mirrors recoated.  They almost always come with Equatorial mounts, which some folks dislike because (when they are polar aligned) they force your to be a "contortionist" to use them.  Forget about computerized "Go-To" ease of use; you have to be proficient at "star-hopping".