•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Grinding supplies

ATM beginner
  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Astro Daddy

Astro Daddy

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Orange, Virginia

Posted 16 April 2018 - 03:30 PM

Hey guys just purchased a piece of glass to practice on before I attempt a refiguring on the mirror I took out of my Zhumell. Just wondering where to get supplies for make a mirror? Also would say a 10" grinding kit be a good way to go? This is my first time doing this so it is all a learning experience at this point. CCassie told me the blank is stressed so I will also be able to see what that looks like as well. The blank has been polished on before and has a bad figure at present so I may see if I can make the figure correct before taking it to a sphere then parabolizing it again.

John

#2 photoracer18

photoracer18

Apollo

• Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Posted 16 April 2018 - 04:07 PM

No. I would not recommend refiguring a Chinese mirror until I had it tested. They tend to be machine made which makes the figures pretty consistent (usually means acceptable but not bad and not great either). Just rougher and not as smooth as good stateside mirrors (at least in the modern era).

• Augustus likes this

#3 John Rose

John Rose

Lift Off

Posted 16 April 2018 - 04:31 PM

In the past it was always recommended to start with a 6 or 8 inch mirror. Check the Stellafane web site. Also check for clubs in your area. Perhaps you will find some experienced mirror makers with in reasonable distance. Nothing like some hands on help.

Good luck, John
  • Augustus and Astro Daddy like this

#4 dan_h

dan_h

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 16 April 2018 - 04:36 PM