•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Benefits of cooled sensor?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Rac19

Rac19

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Sydney, Australia

Posted 27 May 2018 - 05:12 AM

I have a ZWO ASI1600MC and I am considering whether or not I should think about getting the  cooled version, for DSO imaging. I understand that a cooled sensor means that you have less noise at any particular gain setting. Does the ASI1600MC Pro (i.e cooled) allow higher gain settings? 

Another benefit, I believe, is that the sensor temperature is controlled, making it easier to takes darks at the same sensor temperature at lights. Are there any other benefits?

#2 BlackPitchPL

BlackPitchPL

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 27 May 2018 - 05:29 AM

I'm not an expert but you cover most of benefits in cooled CMOS. From what I've read you should see what is avrage temperature in your place and then you can set the CMOS temperature for whole year :).

Wysłane z mojego MI 6 przy użyciu Tapatalka

#3 OleCuss

OleCuss

Surveyor 1

Posted 27 May 2018 - 07:48 AM

A cooled sensor has better SNR.  Better SNR is what imagers strive for.  So you get a cooled sensor to get better images more easily.

The exception is Solar, Lunar, and much planetary imaging.  There is so much signal that a great SNR is easy to achieve.  Cooling is still not quite irrelevant, but it is much less valuable.

IOW, you might really not see a difference in imaging of Jupiter between a cooled and an un-cooled camera.  If it is a particularly bad sensor you might see a really big difference, but that is just not very likely.

And yes, building a darks library can be much easier.

#4 calypsob

calypsob

Soyuz

• Loc: Roanoke, Virginia

Posted 27 May 2018 - 11:20 AM