•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need help with vintage scope

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Shine_bright_like_star

Shine_bright_like_star

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 May 2018 - 08:30 AM

Hi everybody,

First thanks for letting me to jojin your community so quick and easy.

Few days ago I have found this old Japanese made astronomical reflector. So I have cleaned it good, mirrors have been all dusty and nasty. I think I have all pieces, except an extension for the eye. So can someone pleas tell me more abouth this one, because I am a total noob when it comes to telescopes. And what kind of eye extensions should I look for, I have some from earlyer, but they are too wide for this scope.

Pictures are available on the link: https://imgur.com/a/9wXAk4l

Thank you so much in advance.

#2 PETER DREW

PETER DREW

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 27 May 2018 - 08:45 AM

You've certainly cleaned it up well, looks like new. It appears to be a generic 114mm Newtonian reflector that was popular and badged by several companies. All I can see that you are missing are the finder which would fit in the bracket next to the focuser. The eyepiece fit is most likely the early 24.5mm standard. Once you have fitted a finder and an eyepiece you should be good to go.

#3 Astrojensen

Astrojensen

Voyager 1

• Loc: Bornholm, Denmark

Posted 27 May 2018 - 08:59 AM

The finder is fitted to the scope in the bottommost picture, but the mount is missing a counterweight shaft and counterweight. 

Also, the scope is not so old. I'd say 10 - 15 years old, maybe. I can tell from the style of the mount and the focuser. 

Clear skies!
Thomas, Denmark

• Augustus likes this

#4 starman876

starman876

Hubble

• Loc: VA

Posted 27 May 2018 - 09:26 AM