•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Alt Az imaging?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 JimP

JimP

Vanguard

• topic starter
  • Loc: USA

Posted 12 June 2018 - 07:57 AM

Do some of you use an all azimuth mount to take short images of the deep sky without an equatorial Mount with motor drive?
I have just purchased a Takahashi FSQ106N and intend to use it on an AP Mark 1 Mount but, there are times when I could use the scope at a darker site if I did not have so much equipment to carry. Using a good alt azimuth mount with no motor drive would decrease the burden greatly.

I am brand new to this, only being used to doing high-resolution images of the moon and planets and any thoughts would be appreciated. I know I’m going to have to download deep sky stacker and I have purchased a light pollution filter. I will have to figure out dark frames, bias frames, etc. and how they get added to the batch before I can get started.

Thanks for any help.

#2 bunyon

bunyon

Aurora

• Loc: Winston-Salem, NC

Posted 12 June 2018 - 08:07 AM

There are two separate technical issues. 

An alt-az mount can track but, in doing so, the field rotates around the centerpoint. Your idea for using very short exposures, so long as the field of view is not large, can work if you align and stack the subs in software that accounts for field rotation.  It's not great, but it can be done. Exposures here would be on the order of tens of seconds or less.

The second issue is the lack of tracking. Without tracking, at the focal length you're contemplating, you will be limited to extremely short exposures - a second, give or take a second. In practice, this simply can't work. 

You have found the big problem with moving from visual observing to imaging. There is a LOT more equipment needed and each little bit and bob is extremely important.