•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Platenary photography without an expansive telescope

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 konzy

konzy

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Munich, Germany

Posted 14 June 2018 - 07:03 AM

I stumbled upon this picture of Jupiter today, and was surprised to see it was done with just a small scope:

This was taken with a Tele Vue-60mm f/6, Powermate 2.5X, ZWO ASI385MC on an iOptron SkyGuider Pro. Seeing was not bad for suburban Washington DC. Autostakkert did all the real work.

I'm a total newbie, and of course I'd love to be able to photograph planets, but investing in a more solid setup is not an option right now. I also want to keep my equipment as light as possible, which is not very AP friendly... This picture, however, gives me hope that planetary imaging can be achieved with a relatively basic equipment. If you don't have high expectations about IQ, obviously... But the joy of taking a picture of Jupiter that's not a fuzzy white spot, would be really enough for me now.

I have a somewhat comparable setup right now (iOptron SkyGuider Pro, Canon 300mm f/4). If I were to buy a small CCD camera, like a ZWO ASI120 or similar, and put a 2x teleconverter at the end of my Canon lens... Would this setup be good enough  to take modest pictures of Jupiter or Mars, like the one above?

Also, I understand that planetary imaging is quite different, and I'm not very comfortable with the theory. Any input on the matter would be great!

As usual, thanks for your valuable advice ;)

Clear skies

K

#2 Dynan

Dynan

Viking 1

Posted 14 June 2018 - 07:25 AM

Fellow CN'er johnsoda gave me this link about the same questions:

https://www.youtube....4Bkw3-eibwbLUWh

Good help for we wanderers...

• BJS and konzy like this

#3 konzy

konzy

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter