•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Has anyone else made their own rings?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 MPT

MPT

Viking 1

• ****-
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 14 June 2018 - 07:35 AM

Im a woodworker by trade, got a CNC a couple years back that has really made my life easier.  I started wondering what I could do with aluminum, and telescope rings seems like an interesting first project.  Does anyone else here on these forums do this type of work?  Any hints or tips?

I'd be curious about just the basics.  What size do you make the rings?  I know I have a 145mm tube, but Im assuming I want a little wiggle room in here for some sort of padding.  And what sort of padding works best?  Where the hell do you find those little toggle bolt things as well?

rings2.jpg

rings1.jpg

• Gucky, petmic, Allanbarth1 and 1 other like this

#2 jcj380

jcj380

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Western 'burbs of Chicago. Red zone

Posted 14 June 2018 - 07:57 AM

Doesn't count for this discussion, but I use large hose clamps.

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#3 kfiscus

kfiscus

Baltic Birch Dob Bases

• Vendors
  • Loc: Albert Lea, MN, USA

Posted 14 June 2018 - 08:39 AM

Use thin adhesive-backed felt to cushion the rings.  I use 1 mm or 1.5 mm thick felt.

#4 rhaskins

rhaskins

Vostok 1

• Loc: Minnesota

Posted 14 June 2018 - 09:34 AM

They look very good. I love my scopes, so I would suggest a couple of changes:

- make the pivot hole a metal attachment to the wood for reliability (and peaceful sleeping)

- beef up the part where the toggle bolts attach for the same reason

- make the attachment points for the top and bottom of the scope beefier. I assume you are going to attach it to a plate.