•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Astroimaging mount thoughts....

astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 dtidmore

dtidmore

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 June 2018 - 11:38 AM

My adult daughter and I have been delving back into an old hobby of mine, astronomy with the grandkids (10 & 12 yo) and we are planning the plunge into astroimaging.  I have done a LOT of research and as a retired engineer I take a pretty hard nosed perspective.  Our planned scope is Orion's 190mm f/5.3 Mak-Newt.   Auto guiding will of course be part of the mix (PHD2).  Despite being Mac aficionados, we will be getting a windoz laptop for the setup since there is a dearth of astronomy software on the mac side although we do plan to do all our post processing using tools on the Mac (yes, we know about and actually use Parallels, but for this, a dedicated windows laptop is our choice). The only mounts that I seriously considered for this scope were the G11, AZ/EQ-G and the CGX.  The desire is to use Sky Safari 6 running on an iPad Pro for mount control in the field. I know that some may say that there is some overkill here, but this is an initial setup so at least some ability to grow with whatever mount is desired.  Funds aren't unlimited, but they are not too constrained either. 

While I clearly understand that the G11 is one magnificent mount, it is just a tad too old school and the Gemini 2 GoTo system UI is very awkward.  If I was planning to manually drive the mount more, the G11 might get more love for its excellent mechanics, but the competition is scoring more points presently plus the G11/Gemini 2 comes at fairly significant price disadvantage although cost was not an overwhelming factor.