•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

skywatcher 150p star discovery

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Stopforths

Stopforths

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 June 2018 - 02:40 AM

I'm not a novice but couldn't resist buying one of these scopes to have a good play with and use as a guick look scope.

I had a fine 150mm skywatcher on an eq3 a few years back and recall the optics were very good albeit with better eyepieces etc.

Its arrived and I've had an initial play some thoughts hey its a cheap scope

-finder is very cheap but I suppose only needs to find 2 stars and thats it but its really just rubbish and will be thrown away.

-focuser is cheaper than earlier version a bit stiff but does the job

-primary mirror is nonadjustable but collimation is spot on.

-eyepieces supplied are very average with field curvature and coma a real issue.  I'll be parting with these they are 62 degrees but should be about 40 the edge is that bad in both the 23 and 10mm.

-seems to point well and has similar software to my eq6AZ easy to use off the mark so to speak.

-tripod seemed to me  to look  a tad flimsy but is stronger ie more rigid than it looks a bit of a surprise there.

views with very average eyepieces ok only gives me 30 x and 75 x.  Field curvature or coma on the moon is bad even at 75 X the 10mm eyepiece is that bad.

Went to a williams optics 7mm 82 degree and the views were greatly improved   Excellent startest when cooled no sign of zones and virtually identical each side of focus plus a real snap into focus.

Jupiter at only 107 times showed plenty and showed lots of promise cloud stopped any further viewing tother than the moon antares and jupiter.