•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Orion Starshoot Autoguider Pro mono vs. ASI224MC?

astrophotography beginner ccd CMOS equipment imaging Orion reflector
  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Discovery

Discovery

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 11 July 2018 - 03:56 PM

Hi everyone,

I originally posted this in the Solar System imaging forum, but didn't get any bites, and I think this may have been the appropriate spot (my apologies for the double post!!) 

I have been poking around here for a couple of years when I first got serious about observing, and purchased my first telescope since I was a kid, the Orion SpaceProbe 130ST EQ. I fell in love with what I could see, and naturally wanted to progress into astrophotography and continue to grow in the hobby. My goal was to pretty much "future proof" myself (for at least a decent period of time).  After much research and contemplation, I recently purchased the Orion 10" f/3.9 Newtonian Astrograph for some DSO imaging, along with the Orion Atlas Pro mount and Starshoot G4 mono camera.  Needless to say, this was quite the jump from the 130ST EQ, and I am enjoying learning the ins and outs of the new scope and mount.

I am hoping to get a little help in deciding which planetary camera/autoguider would be best for my set up and (lack of) skill.  In retrospect, I should have probably purchased this prior to the G4 (since I need the autoguider), but I got excited, and it was on sale when I bought it.