•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

20mm erect image finder vs 24mm plossl magnification.

accessories Celestron eyepieces
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 zanxion72

zanxion72

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 July 2018 - 01:33 AM

It might be extremely silly, but here it goes.

I have an old Celestron AstroMaster 130 newtonian telescope and I have noticed that the 20mm erect image eyepiece delivers a lower magnification view compared to a 24mm Meade Super Plossl. Shouldn't it be the other way around? Shouldn't the eyepiece with the smaller focal length deliver the highest magnification from the two?

#2 DLuders

DLuders

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 12 July 2018 - 02:43 AM

Perhaps you're being confused by the Apparent Field of View (AFOV) offered by the various eyepieces.  The wider AFOV in the 20mm erect-image eyepiece may make it SEEM like its delivering a lower magnification.

Magnification = (Focal Length of Telescope) / (Focal Length of Eyepiece)

According to the Specifications on this Celestron website, the Astromaster 130 has a Focal Length of 650mm, so the 24mm eyepiece in it produces a magnification of (650mm) / (24mm) = 27x.

The 20mm eyepiece produces a magnification of (650mm) / (20mm) = 32.5x.

Edited by DLuders, 12 July 2018 - 02:46 AM.

#3 DLuders

DLuders

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 12 July 2018 - 02:58 AM