•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Auto Guide Questions Celestron VX

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 mdmyer

mdmyer

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 July 2018 - 07:56 PM

I am an advanced amateur astronomer, and kind of an advanced photographer too. I have a 20" Starmaster dob telescope with GO TO and tracking, so I understand star alignment and go to. In the past I have done prime focus photography though a 10" F 4.5 and a 16" f 4.5 on large German Equatorial mounts, but I manually guided those exposures, and they were with film cameras. I have done some wide field piggy back photography with a Canon 5D Mark III using a 14mm F 2.8, a 24-70 F 2.8, and a 70-200 f 2.8 I use an Ioptron Sky Tracker Pro and it works well. But I also have a 300mm F 2.8 that I want to shoot with, wide field astrophotography. And I doubt the Sky Tracker will carry the 300mm and the 5D Mark III. So I have been looking at the Celestron Advanced VX. And I have been looking at auto guiding. That is where my questions will be. I am considering shooting with the 300mm and an old Celestron C-90 setting side by side on the VX and using the C-90 as a guide scope. Will a lap top be needed to guide the VX in this set up? At this point I don't feel a need to have a lap top in the field with me. But I do like the idea of auto guiding the 300mm. Will the VX auto guide using a C-90 as a guide scope, the C-90 does have an 1 1/4" star diagonal in it. If the C-90 won't work I am sure I can pick up something that will work as a guide scope. What auto guiding eyepieces or cameras do you have?Thanks for your help.

#2 Jim Davis

Jim Davis

Gemini

• Loc: Lewisberry, PA

Posted 12 July 2018 - 08:05 PM