Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Rolling bars in ASI120mm

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

    Skylab

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 4471
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Deep in the heart of Texas

Posted 12 July 2018 - 09:27 PM

I purchased a ZWO ASI120MM last week from a CN member and have been checking it out.  I'm having issues with rolling bars running across the image when used in "live" mode.  I've tried two different laptops (both win xp and win7), updated drivers on both the computers and camera, different cables, ran the lappys with just the battery and plugged in the wall but I can't get the bars to go away.  Any ideas before I have to return it?

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Capture.PNG


#2 GA-HAMAL

GA-HAMAL

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 415
  • Joined: 18 Aug 2014
  • Loc: Poland

Posted 13 July 2018 - 01:00 AM

Sometimes such problems cause energy-saving lighting default_uhm.gif



#3 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

    Skylab

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 4471
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Deep in the heart of Texas

Posted 13 July 2018 - 08:04 AM

I've tried it both at work and home. Same result.

#4 syyntax

syyntax

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 256
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2016
  • Loc: Acworth, GA

Posted 13 July 2018 - 09:38 AM

Try in USB 2.0 if you haven't already.

#5 mikefulb

mikefulb

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1580
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2006

Posted 13 July 2018 - 10:06 AM

If you are using AC powered lights for illumination and using a short exposure due to the brightness compared to astronomical conditions I think you are just picking up the 60HZ nature of the power source.

 

Try testing using sunlight for illumination.



#6 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

    Skylab

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 4471
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Deep in the heart of Texas

Posted 13 July 2018 - 10:48 AM

Syyntax, my lappys have usb2 on them. Tried a usb3 hub thinking maybe the usb2 might not have enough power or bad power on the ports. Still no effect.

Mikeflb, the bars only become apparent when using shorter exposures needed for "live" frame rates. As I plan to use this for planetary as well as for guiding, I'm concerned how the bars will affect planetary work.

#7 mikefulb

mikefulb

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1580
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2006

Posted 13 July 2018 - 11:45 AM

You are most likely seeing the AC powered lights going on and off 60 times a second. Use sunlight or a DC light source.

#8 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

    Skylab

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 4471
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Deep in the heart of Texas

Posted 13 July 2018 - 11:54 AM

So I've tried outside and the bars appear to have gone away.  Hope it's just the lights.  Need to try outside tonight as I've noticed that the bars do get smaller with faster exposures and with exposures longer than half a second, the bars likely get smeared across the image as to not be detectable. 



#9 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

    Skylab

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 4471
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Deep in the heart of Texas

Posted 13 July 2018 - 12:14 PM

Yep, I feel dumb. Turned off the lights and bars go away. I keep forgetting everything is CFL lights now. Stupid me. Thanks yall!

#10 mikefulb

mikefulb

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1580
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2006

Posted 13 July 2018 - 01:48 PM

Trust me the first time I saw them I was dumbfounded.  :)

 

What is more insidious is if you use a light panel with PWM for dimming as a flat box and take some short flats...




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics