•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First Light...First Fail...and Second...and Third...

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 WalterYensid

WalterYensid

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 July 2018 - 09:58 PM

Well, my First Light did not go exceedingly well, but my expectations were pretty low knowing I am a complete newbie and did not know what to expect. Again, thank you to all of you on here who got me to the point of getting the equipment I needed and made me feel a little more educated out there. But, definitely did not impress my wife or kids tonight once I started. haha.

I will definitely research each of these items tomorrow before I give it another shot, but thought I would include the list to see if anyone can commiserate, explain what went awry, what I did wrong, or if some of this is normal. Again, I will search the forums, but thought I would share (honestly, maybe this is to make me feel better after the big fail(s). haha). One note...some of the below might be actual things that 'just are' and I don't know, so be kind with the newbie. haha. I do understand I am not going to see Hubble images or anything, but boy, the below cannot be normal state or scopes would be flying around yards. 

• For background, I am using a new Evolution 8. Main eyepieces I used tonight were the 40mm that came with it, the Baader 8-24mm Zoom, the 32mm, and even threw on the Barlow 2x once.
  • Did all my terrestrial alignments before going out there and then did the 3 star alignment. That was not perfectly smooth as I struggled with the scope controls on the app, but did get it aligned and was feeling confident.
  • No moon tonight, so went after Jupiter as it was the brightest star to start the night.