•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

My 50mm Meteorite Sphere Collection

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 BobaDebt

BobaDebt

Vendor/Distinctive Displays

• -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter

Posted 21 July 2018 - 09:16 AM

Apparently I have been a member here since 2008 but have no post history??????

Anyway, my name is David and I have been collecting 50mm Meteorite Spheres since 2006.

Currently I have 25 spheres that span all of the common classifications and some of the widely known meteorite related material.

I'm always looking for new material and I have worked with other collectors by providing processing services in exchange for material..

I have attached pictures of my current collection.

My knowledge base is rooted in processing meteorites and would be glad to provide info about but I have no experience in the finding or identification so I useless in those aspects of the hobby.

Attached Thumbnails

• Collection 2018 07 A.jpg
  • Collection 2018 07 C.jpg

• John Gauvreau, bluesteel, Ladyhawke and 4 others like this

#2 DLuders

DLuders

Gemini

• Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 21 July 2018 - 09:21 AM

You've got quite a valuable collection, based on these prices:   https://www.ebay.com...=50mm meteorite

#3 gun4hire

gun4hire

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: South Dakota

Posted 21 July 2018 - 09:25 AM

how are those made???

Beyond cool!!

#4 Neptune

Neptune

Viking 1

• Loc: Arizona

Posted 21 July 2018 - 10:18 AM

how are those made???

Beyond cool!!

They are made on a sphere making machines.   Probably the same or similar to ones used to make rock spheres.

• Joe1950 likes this

#5 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 21 July 2018 - 10:58 AM

Wow! Wish I had a big Moon Rock and Mars Rock to send... Looks like it would be fun to Juggle those.  Tom

#6 rsalpine

rsalpine