•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Seeking a Grab and go solar refractor

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Jan.H

Jan.H

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Denmark

Posted 10 August 2018 - 05:10 AM

Hi 

I am looking for a grab and go refractor, as a supplement to my APM 152 ED, my first telescope. I have used my APM 6" a lot with my Daystar Quark, and even though I only use 20 minutes to set it all up, it is still a lot off work if you only what a quick gaze at the sun. So I have been looking for a refractor which mainly will be used for solar observations, and I have found one , a Sky-Watcher Esprit 80 ED PRO Triplet with a 400mm focal Length. Does anyone, have any experience with this  refractor in regard to solar observing? I am still new to this discipline and my experience is still very limited, so what is your thoughts.? Your opinion is definitely appreciated.

Thanks

Jan H. =)

my current setup

Attached Thumbnails

• Hey.jpg

#2 sushi1128

sushi1128

Mariner 2

Posted 10 August 2018 - 05:35 AM

for grab ang go, a lighter and cheaper achromatic refractor will be great for your Quark. The narrow band pass of your filter will eliminate chromatic aberrations.  a ST80 with a moonlight focuser would be equal to the task . Or, you can get a Lunt Engineering 80mm ED OTA (ED but cheaper than the Esprit).  cheers

https://optcorp.com/...-ed-doublet-ota

Edited by sushi1128, 10 August 2018 - 06:09 AM.

#3 PETER DREW

PETER DREW

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 10 August 2018 - 06:28 AM

I would consider a dedicated Ha solar telescope like a 50mm/60mm Lunt for grab and go use, this presumes you wish to dispense with the Quark setup for quick sessions.

#4 junomike

junomike

Voyager 1

• Moderators
  • Loc: Ontario

Posted 10 August 2018 - 07:11 AM

A smaller mount might be far more desirable over a smaller OTA.