•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Achieving focus with a DSLR

astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 claudioarchi

claudioarchi

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 September 2018 - 01:01 PM

Hello,

I must warn you I'm totally new to astrophoto.  I'm able to operate my 6inch Newtonian on a German Equatorial Mount (celestronAVX) as well as my DSL via BYE.  I  live in a very light polluted sky so the live view of my camera does not show any star on which I can focus. So I have to go by try and error (roughly 15 images until I'm satisfied). My DSLR has a SkyTech CLS Canon EOS Clip Filter which it's giving good results. My question is: Is there a technique on how to achieve focus if no star shows on the camera's live view? Can I try to point the telescope/camera to a brighter star, visible in the camera's live view and then move to the target that I want to shoot?

My equipment :

6N Celestron

Canon 450D EOS

SkyTech CLS Canon EOS Clip Filter

Stellarium

Backyard EOS

Deep Sky Stacker

Attached is my first image of M31 Total exposure time 22 min (lights, not enough darks, and flats) BTW this is a post-prod image in PSD in order to get more detail only

Attached Thumbnails

• M31_20180912_BackYard.jpg

Edited by claudioarchi, 14 September 2018 - 02:22 PM.

#2 Jeff Struve

Jeff Struve

Gemini

• Moderators
  • Loc: Iowa, USA

Posted 14 September 2018 - 01:06 PM

Yes... you can focus on a brighter star then move the scope... the only caveat wiuld be if you were using an SCT w/o mirror locks where the mirror could move

#3 droe

droe

Viking 1

• Loc: Fenton, Mi

Posted 14 September 2018 - 01:17 PM