•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

EAA for Outreach

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 zakry3323

zakry3323

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Pittsburgh

Posted 09 October 2018 - 03:44 PM

Hi!

I've been doing outreach within my city (Bortle 6-7) for a few years and I've recently been doing some experimentation with Electonically Assisted observing. Though still in the experimental phase, I've received a huge outpouring of support from my patrons as they get to see DSO's that we'd never get to view with any kind of contrast or resolution under the light pollution umbrella visually. Elderly folks, visually impaired individuals, and people with mobility impairments get to see objects in comfort from my laptop screen. It's also handy for keeping kids from banging on my telescope :)

Given the response I've received, I'd like to expand to using a large screen and digital projector and make the sky more accessible to more people. 

This will be a new kind of experiment for me. Getting a good polar alignment while talking to folks, then dialing in focus, then messing with gain settings proves to be a big time investment as it is. 

If anyone has tried using a projector for outreach, I'd really love to hear about your experiences, and any tips you would care to share about making setup as efficient as possible. 

I'm using an AVX mount for tracking, an ED80 ota, and an ASI071MC. For live-stacking I use Sharpcap. Everything is on battery power, which might make using a projector and a laptop and the mount and the camera at the same time a little difficult. 

Thanks!

Zack

• GoFish, Adun and kappa-draconis like this

#2 donniesoprano

donniesoprano

Ranger 4

Posted 09 October 2018 - 04:57 PM

I won't have anything to add from experience with a projector, it probably depends on the battery power.