•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

svbony 68° eyepieces

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 bananas

bananas

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 October 2018 - 12:27 AM

I'm a noob with an Orion Starblast 4.5, F4, 113mm aperture, 450mm focal length.  I found it at a thrift store for $30 without eyepieces.  So I bought a used svbony 68° eyepieces in 20mm and 9mm because I'm cheap.  That  gives me 22x and 50x magnification.  I also got a Meade model 140 barlow to pump it up a bit.  The eyepiece coatings look good.  They're only multicoated so that means at least one lens surface has no anti-reflection coating.  

I anticipated a poor performance with an F4 scope from what I've read in this forum.  I tested in daylight first.  Well, the 20mm was an OK performer.  Not a flat field.  There's just a hint of blackout at the very center that distorts the image as your eye moves around.  I found myself shifting the object off center just to get a clearer view. The 68° AFOV is acceptable than I thought. Probably more than I needed. The 17mm eye relief is a welcome.  Barlowing produced an image similar to the 9mm.  The blackout diminished significantly if not disappeared.  The eye relief didn't really extend as I anticipated.  Night views was great.  Makes searching easier but not much else to see at such low magnification.  The moon looked pleasantly sharp.  I can almost discern saturn's ring.