•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Eyepiece question

• Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#1 pete123

pete123

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Essex . United Kingdom

Posted 16 October 2018 - 02:47 AM

Celestron nexstar 8 gps xlt

Hi im just starting out and need to buy some eyepieces , ive been looking at the celestron x-cel as they have a good writeup and a decent price , my question is should buy a 24mm and a 2x barlow lens or will i get better results buying a 24mm and a 12mm and carry on buying single lenses .
Thanks
  • aeajr likes this

#2 Jond105

Jond105

Apollo

• Loc: Detroit

Posted 16 October 2018 - 03:14 AM

As much as this is more of a personal preference question, you could easily buy the 24 and use the a Barlow and be happy, as opposed to buying the 24 and 12. I for the longest time was against Barlows, but as of late I've been using them in my ST80 and I generally 3x Barlow my ES14 82* in my dob for planetary observing

#3 pete123

pete123

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 October 2018 - 03:19 AM

Thanks for the reply jon , its planets i mainly want to look at for now , and with no experience of lenses do you think i should get a 24mm for wide angle of the moon and a 2x or 3 times barlow for further out planets

#4 Jond105

Jond105

Apollo

Posted 16 October 2018 - 03:36 AM

What's your focal length?

#5 sg6

sg6

Soyuz

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 16 October 2018 - 03:37 AM

You will get both answers and in similar proportions, so likely best to make your own decision.

I prefer individual eyepieces, but in my early days eyepieces were not great and barlows were worse. So adding in the poor end of a coke bottle was best avoided. Things have improved, and improved a lot.

Also I do not want to started handling eyepieces and barlows and all the permutations involved.