•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Where are the stars?

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Kepler 22b

Kepler 22b

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 November 2018 - 04:24 AM

Beginner here. So i have not seen a single star in the sky for 2 weeks in northern Europe at about 59th parallel North. I havent even been able to try out my new old telescope properly since i bought it, very annoying.

What weather factors makes stargazing impossible or hard, more than cloudiness? Does fog make a big impact?  There is no snow at all and it doesnt seem so cloudy, at least in the daytime?

There is medium light pollution, but i have also driven to a relatively dark site but there i could not see a single star either.

Not even the moon have been the slightest visible, not at all.

So what are the different weather conditions that can hinder stargazing, and isnt the winter generally the best time for stargazing?

Also is some places on earth more suitable for stargazing in regards to the latitude etc.?

• Greyhaven, Carlos Flores and aeajr like this

#2 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 14 November 2018 - 04:33 AM

Astronomers, professional and amateur... We're ALL in the same boat: at the mercy of the weather. All four seasons are equally good. Winter just SEEMS better, because some of the flashier constellations are out, and the nights are longer... at least here, in the Northern mid-latitudes...

If you're willing to get up and observe EVERY clear or partially-clear night, there are PLENTY of them in the course of a year... it all pretty much evens out!  Tom

• TieDyeAstronomer and vdog like this

#3 einarin

einarin

Apollo

Posted 14 November 2018 - 04:43 AM

Here in Scandinavia the best opportunities are August-September and then in spring March-April.