•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Shooting with a 4x5 - Hypered Tech Pan?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Acer

Acer

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Loveland, CO

Posted 01 December 2018 - 07:02 PM

Hello everyone.  

I am a long time photographer who is starting to get into Astrophotography.  I shoot with all types of cameras, from APS-C, Full Frame and Medium frame digital cameras, to 35mm and up to 8x10 film cameras, even do a little wet plate.

I am getting a EQ6-R Pro in, along with a 80mm scope which I plan to only use digital on, BUT I am thinking, maybe I can attach my 4x5 to the mount and shoot some film shots as well?

One of my all time favorite films to shoot is Kodak Technical Pan.  I use it on landscapes and just love the creamy, detailed photos I get out of it.  I also know back in the day, people used it for astrophotography.  I know they hyped the film with hydrogen to make it more sensitive.

Do any of you know how to hype the film?  I'm thinking of doing it just using some ziplock type bags.  The hydrogen itself is easy enough to get from my gas supplier (I have a full weld shop set up).  How long would I leave the film "Hyping" in the hydrogen for?

I would like to try out 4x5 astrophotography.  I'm sure it will be a little frustrating at first, but a lot of fun.  I'd probably shoot wide-field shots mostly.  

#2 petert913

petert913

Gemini

• Loc: Portland, OR

Posted 01 December 2018 - 07:20 PM

I can't wait to see some of  your results !!

#3 telesonic

telesonic

Ranger 4

• Loc: SW Idaho - USA

Posted 01 December 2018 - 07:46 PM

Acer,

Definitely look forward to seeing that also.

As far as the hypering goes, I've only read about it in books - I'm pretty new at this so I haven't actually done it. Hopefully someone can steer you in the right direction on that.