•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Upgrading to a Meade DSI 4?

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Ballyhoo

Ballyhoo

Soyuz

• topic starter
  • Loc: San Diego

Posted 10 December 2018 - 12:27 AM

Since I am very new at AP, and I somewhat ignorantly purchased a un-cooled ASI294, I have ever since posting about the new purchase and being barraged w posts that I made a big mistake not getting a cooled CMOS, I have really thought long and hard about the Meade DSI 4.  I have an open box and I am subject to a fee for return, but if I upgrade I was told that my charges will be minimal. The cooled version of the ASI294 is not in stock, so I really need to select something else. I do like Meade, and I am sure there are plenty of people here that do not, but I am told that the DSI 4 was designed by ZWO for Meade -- it is essentially a ZWO something. My criteria for a camera are rather typical: I want to be able to take good pictures. Now, someone who has taken very good pics with non-cooled advised me that I could have plenty of fine quality work to do with my uncooled 294, and I though about that, I could prob be okay learning this and have plenty a good time for the next year, but after that I will likely want the cooled, and I might as well just get it now, rather than have to buy it later Or of course I could just keep the uncooled 294 and when I need to either keep it and spend for a cooled; or sell the uncooled in the classifieds.  I think though I am leaning towards upgrading it now while I can get full value, for the DS1 4. Still not 100% sure though on all the specs of the Meade. I will be using it on my 85mm eon; or my SW 100; or my ES 127

https://optcorp.com/...elescope-camera

any thoughts?

Edit: