Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Upgrading to a Meade DSI 4?

  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#26 skyler

skyler

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,839
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2006
  • Loc: TGPNW

Posted 22 June 2019 - 12:10 PM

I promise I will let you know.  I also wondered what you thought of any "banding" in images. Not sure if you see it or not but if you look up banding issues especially in a post in QHYCCD QHY163M (mono version) you will see what I mean.

 

You seemed to clear it all up in the M27 photo (through post processing?) since there is no hint of it there.

 

https://www.qhyccd.c...g33158#msg33158


Edited by skyler, 22 June 2019 - 10:03 PM.


#27 Paul AZ

Paul AZ

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2009
  • Loc: AZ

Posted 23 June 2019 - 10:19 AM

I promise I will let you know.  I also wondered what you thought of any "banding" in images. Not sure if you see it or not but if you look up banding issues especially in a post in QHYCCD QHY163M (mono version) you will see what I mean.

 

You seemed to clear it all up in the M27 photo (through post processing?) since there is no hint of it there.

 

https://www.qhyccd.c...g33158#msg33158

Here is a single frame of the Dumbbell Nebula. It is a 1 min exposure. I don't see any banding. I did have the temp at 32 F.

Attached Thumbnails

  • DumbbellNebula_singleFrame_1min.jpg

Edited by Paul AZ, 23 June 2019 - 10:22 AM.


#28 skyler

skyler

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,839
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2006
  • Loc: TGPNW

Posted 23 June 2019 - 01:36 PM

Did you see anything in the stretched/unstretche bias frames?



#29 Paul AZ

Paul AZ

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2009
  • Loc: AZ

Posted 23 June 2019 - 07:19 PM

In the stretched stacked image you can see a bit of it in the last two photos I posted of the Eagle Nebula and Trifid Nebula. For those two I did not run through the astro flats pro tool. So I think there is a slight band across top ir bottom but when run through the astro flats it would get cleanwd up.

#30 skyler

skyler

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,839
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2006
  • Loc: TGPNW

Posted 23 June 2019 - 07:46 PM

Thanks for offering the info. I did see that in those frames but am wondering just as discussed in the QHY discussion if it is in those bias frames. There is an interesting note in the following about finding a partial fix in the ASCOM dialogue box. I don't use SGP (yet) nor have the camera but maybe it can be useful to you or others.  Also I have not received the information regarding the beta ASCOM file from Meade but I am hopeful for a reply. I think the beta driver resides in the primary setup file but you have to have the right one since it probably has the same name unless you can differentiate it from version 1.0.

 

I think I gather that this is the particular beta driver or application name where is resides:  ASCOMMEadeCamSetup

 

This is the other information I mentioned above regarding the ASCOM dialogue box working with SGP:  https://www.qhyccd.c...hp?topic=5877.0


Edited by skyler, 23 June 2019 - 08:09 PM.

  • turchinc likes this

#31 turchinc

turchinc

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2018

Posted 15 September 2019 - 04:17 AM

Did anyone ever get updated (beta) drivers for dsi-iv? I'm at my wit's end with it, it has some critical, utterly broken detail that is a deal breaker for productive imaging in every software I've tried (apt, sgpro, sharpcam). Crashes on temperature sensor, properties window not working, crashes in ascom diagnostics program, recording random white noise (based on the histogram), laughably poor service, etc. Hoping to avoid buying a second OSC camera within a year, but slowly resigning to it. It has made AP -already a challenge- no fun at all. 


Edited by turchinc, 15 September 2019 - 04:22 AM.


#32 Paul AZ

Paul AZ

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2009
  • Loc: AZ

Posted 15 September 2019 - 10:33 PM

I have not but then again I decided to stick with the capture software Meade provided. I have separate software for focuser etc. I have not been outside to image anything since my sabbatical ended but hope to get back outside again soon. Just too busy.

#33 skyler

skyler

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,839
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2006
  • Loc: TGPNW

Posted 16 September 2019 - 02:32 PM

This is after the fact...so sorry I was not back here to reply sooner. I returned the DSIIV but it was a tough call and not due to any particular make or break issues. It worked fine and actually quite well compared to the QHY offering.  The drivers on their site was what I used on a few years older I5 Windows Pro laptop. They worked without a hitch first time so I assumed those were the updated ones if I remember correctly. The disk that came with it was cracked so I could not use it anyway so that led me to their website. It actually cooled better than the QHY by about 10 deg C according to SGP which was what I primarily use. The only oddity was that on one session, it took a couple white 1/4" long bands at the top of an image but it may have been a communication issue with SGP since once in a long while when taking more than maybe 10 min worth of focus images, SGP would become unresponsive and a close/restart program was necessary. This never happened, though, in actual imaging sessions. I felt the images were slightly less noisy than the 163m in the mono Ha images  I saw. The other thing I liked was the build quality as it was more robust than the 163m but you paid for that in more weight and size. Given the price point and even getting a pelican style case with it, I would not hesitate to go with the DSIIV for that price point.

 

Skyler



#34 Crash99

Crash99

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2005
  • Loc: SF Bay Area, CA

Posted 16 September 2019 - 05:24 PM

So back in December I first posted on this topic having just received a color DSI-IV to find out it did not support Mac OSX despite the information on the website as well as the box. None of the PC laptops available to me would run the software either.

 

Well guess what. Nine months later, still no Mac software....

 

I spent $1k on this camera to use with my students and it took exactly zero pictures. Because it was paid for by a grant I can't get the money back nor can I legally sell it.

 

According to the Meade website:

 

"Note: Development for Mac OS X compatibility is in progress. Access the latest updates from the SkyCapture Software Downloads in the Support tab."

 

How long do I have to hold my breath before something happens??

 

Has anyone found software that will operate this thing using Mac software? Nebulosity didn't work; Astroimager didn't work. The last thing I want to do is to buy another laptop (I already have two MacBook Pros)  just to run this POS...

 

Help!

 

Thanks for any advice.

 

-TC



#35 Eyeheartmono

Eyeheartmono

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2019

Posted 26 September 2019 - 11:01 AM

Also purchased a DSI-IV, APT works well other then accessing the camera settings and sharp cap works.

SGP does not work. I contacted Meade about it and they had no idea what Sequence Generator Pro was but they assured me it was ASCOM compliant.

#36 jgraham

jgraham

    ISS

  • *****
  • Posts: 20,862
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Miami Valley Astronomical Society

Posted 26 September 2019 - 11:16 AM

You might contact Craig Stark at Stark Labs to see if he has any suggestions. He has developed some very nice software that runs under Windows and MacOS. As for Meade, I'd consider pestering them regularly. Try the squeaky wheel approach.

#37 Eyeheartmono

Eyeheartmono

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2019

Posted 26 September 2019 - 01:35 PM

Anyone get DSI-IV working with SGP with temp control working and gain controls?

#38 turchinc

turchinc

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2018

Posted 13 October 2019 - 03:33 PM

sharpcap2

Do that histogram (DSI-IV in SharpCap) look off to anyone?

The red channel in particular seems "wobbly" - I tried re-connecting cables but stays that way.



#39 Eyeheartmono

Eyeheartmono

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2019

Posted 14 November 2019 - 08:41 AM

Any update with this? Im getting quite frustrated with Meade. Their response was to send the camera back for repairs. I sent the log files to SGP and they said its a drivers issue for me and APT is telling me its a driver issue although it works just can't access settings. Ive read forums of people using SGP with no issues.

 

Ive heard a work around for this is to set the settings in sharp cap then switch to APT.

 

Ive tried both drivers from the CD and from the website with no change.



#40 turchinc

turchinc

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2018

Posted 14 November 2019 - 09:27 AM

Nothing new from me, alas. At some point Meade support just stopped replying to my increasingly frustrated emails. SharpCap is the only tool where I can open the ascom properties dialog. Apt is most consistent from imaging standpoint for me, but many issues there also for example with goto++ (seems not to refresh the image).

#41 turchinc

turchinc

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2018

Posted 14 November 2019 - 09:27 AM

Nothing new from me, alas. At some point Meade support just stopped replying to my increasingly frustrated emails. SharpCap is the only tool where I can open the ascom properties dialog. Apt is most consistent from imaging standpoint for me, but many issues there also for example with goto++ (seems not to refresh the image).

#42 Eyeheartmono

Eyeheartmono

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2019

Posted 14 November 2019 - 07:30 PM

Update: Meade finally forked over a beta driver, working in APT now. Can access settings in both SGP and APT. I would suggest bugging them for the driver.



#43 Kaydubbed

Kaydubbed

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 253
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2018
  • Loc: Kansas City, Missouri

Posted 14 November 2019 - 08:20 PM

Throwing this out there...maybe it works with Indi? Ask Jasem at the Indilibs boards. If it doesn't exist, he will make a driver.

#44 1onica

1onica

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2018
  • Loc: Fremont, CA

Posted 28 April 2020 - 05:12 AM

any updates on this, the camera look really nicely build and seems to be a good ish camera for the price but the drivers are well crap, I can get change the gain from sharpcap and I didn't even bother with crappy meade software, any one got any idea how to get get ascom menu working ?

 

Thanks,

ioan



#45 Eyeheartmono

Eyeheartmono

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2019

Posted 28 April 2020 - 05:50 AM

Ive got some great pictures out of it but the drivers are still terrible, they gave me a beta driver that lets you change the gain and what not but it has other issues such as if you cancel the picture in the middle of the exposure you need to depower the camera to get it working again. Its to bad because i think with good drivers this would be a good camera. 



#46 1onica

1onica

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2018
  • Loc: Fremont, CA

Posted 28 April 2020 - 04:38 PM

Ive got some great pictures out of it but the drivers are still terrible, they gave me a beta driver that lets you change the gain and what not but it has other issues such as if you cancel the picture in the middle of the exposure you need to depower the camera to get it working again. Its to bad because i think with good drivers this would be a good camera. 

I am thinking we could tweak the drivers profile for Gain :) so that we can use with Sequence Generator and other tools to get autofocusers working, can I have the beta drivers they gave you ? I wanna see if I can tweak the ascom profile :) and then send it back (you can go in Ascom and tweak the Gain value, that's my only problem with the camera).

 

show me some examples of photos you took at what gain you used? I am was looking to use Gain: 500, is that too much or too little?



#47 Eyeheartmono

Eyeheartmono

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2019

Posted 28 April 2020 - 05:05 PM

I am thinking we could tweak the drivers profile for Gain smile.gif so that we can use with Sequence Generator and other tools to get autofocusers working, can I have the beta drivers they gave you ? I wanna see if I can tweak the ascom profile smile.gif and then send it back (you can go in Ascom and tweak the Gain value, that's my only problem with the camera).

 

show me some examples of photos you took at what gain you used? I am was looking to use Gain: 500, is that too much or too little?

I PM'd you with the link to the dropbox.

 

 

 

Lost all my images when astrobin dumped its files but here are some recent ones. I use fairly low gain I believe 50.

https://www.astrobin...s/Eyeheartmono/


Edited by Eyeheartmono, 28 April 2020 - 05:09 PM.


#48 turchinc

turchinc

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2018

Posted 29 April 2020 - 07:03 AM

I still have my DSI-IV (in a box someplace) so if you make any progress I would be happy to hear about it here



#49 Eyeheartmono

Eyeheartmono

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: 22 Sep 2019

Posted 02 June 2020 - 06:31 AM

https://www.dropbox....mSetup.exe?dl=0

 

Since Im still getting messages about this beta driver i'lll share the link here. This was given to me by Meade 6-7 months ago there may be newer drivers but these seem to work to some extent with most programs.


  • turchinc likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics