•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Opinion: native soil or liner in pier base

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Alex McConahay

Alex McConahay

Fly Me to the Moon

• topic starter
  • Loc: Moreno Valley, CA

Posted 11 December 2018 - 10:16 AM

I am of the opinion that the concrete poured into a hole that will be a pier base should be poured directly into well compacted soil.

A colleague of mine says line it with a plastic liner, and then pour the concrete.

What says the collective wisdom of Cloudy Nights?

Alex

#2 Real14

Real14

Surveyor 1

• Loc: San Luis Potosi, Mexico

Posted 11 December 2018 - 10:21 AM

Hi Alex,

Neither of both. I am not a civil engineer but my guts say that one should pour the concrete into a hole which was cleaned well from all debris which happens when one digs a hole.

With the plastic liner I see one problem and that is that hunidity will be always trapped inside the concrete ... ¿ is it good, is it bad ? I do not know but I do not like the idea of having always humidity in my concrete base ...

IMHO but I can be wrong ...

Edited by Real14, 11 December 2018 - 11:20 AM.

#3 CharlesW

CharlesW

Long time member

• ***--
  • Loc: Chula Vista, CA

Posted 11 December 2018 - 10:32 AM

That seems like a completely unnecessary waste of time and effort. Even my pier at GMARS hasn’t shown any signs of cracking despite being poured in that talcum powder that purports to be sand. I’m sure the water got sucked out of that mix about 10 seconds after it touched the ground. 

• JMKarian likes this

#4 gardenfish

gardenfish

Viking 1

• Loc: Phoenix Az.

Posted 11 December 2018 - 10:46 AM