Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Do you really need to recapture flats/calib frames after switching filters?

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 cheesified

cheesified

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2018
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 11 December 2018 - 10:33 AM

I read somewhere that this is required, due to the differences in filters... but would like to know if this is really required?

 



#2 entilza

entilza

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3622
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2014
  • Loc: Oakville, ON, Canada

Posted 11 December 2018 - 10:36 AM

I read somewhere that this is required, due to the differences in filters... but would like to know if this is really required?


Just Flats!

Edited by entilza, 11 December 2018 - 10:36 AM.

  • cheesified likes this

#3 Michael Covington

Michael Covington

    Author

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 4858
  • Joined: 13 May 2014
  • Loc: Athens, Georgia, USA

Posted 11 December 2018 - 10:36 AM

Flats, yes, so that if there is a dust mote on the filter, you will correct for it.

Flat darks and darks, no, since they are not taken through the filter.
 


  • ks__observer and cheesified like this

#4 cheesified

cheesified

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2018
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 13 December 2018 - 08:53 AM

thank you!!


  • Michael Covington likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics