•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

"Short Driver Name - Please Customize"

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 PatrickVt

PatrickVt

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Vermont, US

Posted 17 December 2018 - 12:48 PM

I'm new to ASCOM but have learned quite a bit in the past week.  Finding info online about this seems to be impossible or I am searching the wrong text strings or searching in the wrong places.  I figured I should ask here.

When I connect to my driver in Starry Nights 7, the display reticle showing where my telescope is located in the sky is labeled "Short driver name - please customize".  The same happens if I connect through POTH Hub first.  Control of the telescope works just fine but seeing that message rather than "Telescope" or some other custom name is a bit annoying. 

I spent days trying to figure out where to customize this name label within Starry Night but then, because I see no options within Starry Night for customizing this, I came to the conclusion that this must be an ASCOM thing so I started searching for ASCOM options.  I'm lost and can't figure out how to do this.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?  

Patrick

#2 PatrickVt

PatrickVt

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 December 2018 - 09:05 PM

I think I may have figured this out on my own.  I'll try my idea tomorrow after I get some sleep.

I'm thinking I need to open ASCOM's "Profile Explorer" utility...  change the value in the driver that says "short driver name - please customize" to my preferred choice...  ie, telescope or scope or EXOS-2GT (which is the mount name)...  and then reinstall the driver.  And, I would need to do this on each computer I use.  

I suspect that most drivers for other mounts leave this value blank or use "Scope".

I'll give it a shot tomorrow and see what comes of it.